Friday, April 1, 2022

Club d'Elf - You Never Know (April 1, 2022)

"You Never Know" is a trance-heavy meditation on finding light amidst the shadows. The band pay tribute to the music and musicians who have been heavy influences, with half the album being covers of Gnawa (trance music from North Africa), Miles Davis, Joe Zawinul, Moroccan band Nass el-Ghiwane, and Frank Zappa. The other half consists of original music inspired by leader Mike Rivard's personal journey into darkness following a near death experience in the remote jungle of the Peruvian Amazon.

Sessions were recorded live to analog tape in the studio with minimal overdubbing, with the result being the closest feeling of the band's legendary live performances than any of it's preceding fifteen releases.

1. Boney Oscar Stomp
2. Zeed Al Maal
3. Now Open Your Eyes
4. Golden Hour
5. In a Silent Way/It’s About That Time
6. Dark Fish
7. Dervish Dance
8. Lalla Aisha in Jhaptal
9. Allah Ya Moulana
10. King Kong

Brahim Fribgane: oud, vocal, bendir, karakab, cajon, frame drum, dumbek; Mike Rivard: acoustic bass, sintir, electric bass, tamboura (7), chorus vocal (9); Dean Johnston: drums, chorus vocal (9); Duke Levine: guitar (1-4, electric mandocello & 6 string bass (3); Kevin Barry: lap steel (1-4); Paul Schultheis: Rhodes, Wurli, organ, Moog, clavinet, ARP Omni (1-4); John Medeski: Rhodes, Wurli, organ, Mellotron, clavinet (5-10), chorus vocal (9); David Fiuczynski: fretted and fretless guitars (5-10); Mister Rourke: turntables (2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10); Amit Kavthekar: tabla (6, 8); Andrew Fogliano: tenor sax (1, 8), bari sax, flute (8); Phil Grenadier: trumpet (1, 6, 8); Thorleifur Gaukur Davidsson: harmonica (3).

Produced and arranged by Mike Rivard.

Recorded by Chris Rival at Middleville Studio. Horn overdubs by Will Holland at Chillhouse. Horn arrangements (1, 8) by Andrew Fogliano. Additional recording by Jeff Misner at The Chop Shop, Trausti Laufdal at TLA Studios, and Duke Levine.
Mixed by Danny Blume at Hidden Quarry Studio. Edited by Evren Celimli. Mastered by Alan Silverman at Arf Mastering.
Face Pelt Records FP 2201