Friday, September 15, 2017

CUNEIFORM RECORDS: Happy Five Dollar Friday! Today's 1-Day Only $5 album is...

Five Dollar

Only one day to Buy a Brilliant Album
from the Cuneiform Catalog for Only $5!
This sale ends 11:59pm UTC on 09/16/2017

Fear Draws Misfortune by CHEER-ACCIDENT


1) Click the link below which will take you to the above album on Bandcamp

2) Click "Buy Digital Album"

3) Type "10" into the Name your price field (The discount comes next! ;) )

4) Type the word "FRIDAY" into the Discount code field.

5) Click "apply". 

6) Click "Check out now" or "Add to Cart".

That's it! Easy, right?


September 15
Rock In Opposition Festival - Cap D'ecouverte - Le Garric 81450, France

September 16
la Librairie Compagnon - 8 sentier des écoliers - 69870 Grandris, France

September 17
Une figue dans le Poirier - Girmont Val'D'Ajol - France

September 19
Le 108 - 108 ru de Bourgogne - 45000 Orleans, France

September 20
tba - Metz, France

September 21
Le Grattoir - Gerardmer, France

September 22
Freakshow Art Rock Festival - Würzburg, Germany [with Poil and Le Silo]

September 23
OFF - Offenburgerstrasse 59 - Basel, Switzerland

Omri Ziegele Where`s Africa - Going South (INTAKT RECORDS 2017)

This new album by Omri Ziegele’s «Where’s Africa» trio is in a place where there is unmitigated joy; its movements are feather-light, yet its grooves are earthy. That state of being in which everything can flow freely, the songs, time, like children’s rhymes and rounds, circling until they suddenly lead us out into the open. 

The keyboard transforms itself into a whole battery of tuned drums – it becomes a melodica, a bass, a universal instrument. In addition there is the simmering of the percussion, either with a relaxed timefeel or driving rhythms, over which the alto saxophone can lift raise itself – song-like, hymnic, spiritual, unchained as if in a trance. 

There are moments when everything connects: the joy of the dance and the “petite mort”; devotion and prayer.

Omri Ziegele: Alto Saxophone, Uzbek Flute, Vocals
Yves Theiler: Keyboards, Reed Organ, Melodica, Vocals
Dario Sisera: Percussion, Drums

1. Afreaka (Yves Theiler) 6:47
2. Make Me Mad (Omri Ziegele) 3:31
3. Laughing Your Tears Away (Omri Ziegele) 3:48
4. Will You Marry Me After So Many Years (Omri Ziegele) 2:14
5. Space (Yves Theiler Lyrics by Theiler/Ziegele) 5:38
6. Yesterday’s Tomorrows (Omri Ziegele) 5:35
7. The Milkman Always Paid My Rent (Omri Ziegele) 4:28
8. Camel, Where’s My Land (Omri Ziegele: music and lyrics) 13:36
9. Ithi Gqi (Johnny Dyani) 3:45

Recorded September 22, 23, 2016, at Hardstudios Winterthur by Andreas Neresheimer.
Edits by Dario Sisera, mixed by Andreas Neresheimer and Where’s Africa, overdubs by Where’s Africa, mastered by Andreas Neresheimer.
In cooperation with Radio SRF 2 Kultur. 
Cover art and graphic design: Jonas Schoder. Photo: Heinz Unger. Liner notes: Bert Noglik.
Produced by Omri Ziegele and Intakt Records. Published by Intakt Records, Patrik Landolt.

Bill O'Connell / Nico Catacchio / Alessandro Napolitano - The Three of Us (ALBORE JAZZ 2017)

Blue in Green (Miles Davis)
Lost in Taranto (Alessandro Napolitano)
Love for Sale (Cole Porter)
Piccolo Porticciolo (Alessandro Napolitano)
Solar (Miles Davis)
There Is No Greater Love (Isham Jones)
Estate (Bruno Martino)

Bill O’Connell* (piano)
Nico Catacchio (double bass)
Alessandro Napolitano (drums)
*Bill O’Connell appears courtesy of Savant Records

Recorded at XLR Recording Studio, Taranto – Italy, in May 2015
Recording and mixing engineer: Marco Rollo
Mastering engineer: Luca Bulgarelli
Executive producer: Satoshi Toyoda

Tom Rainey Obbligato - Float Upstream (with Ralph Alessi, Ingrid Laubrock, Kris Davis, Drew Gress) INTAKT RECORDS 2017

On this second CD with his band Obbligato Tom Rainey surprises with standards and beautiful love songs like «Stella by Starlight», «What Is This Thing Called Love» or «I Fall in Love too Easily».

Tom Rainey has played in bands with Tim Berne, Fred Hirsch and Craig Taborn, and his own trio with Ingrid Laubrock and Mary Halvorson.

For this ensemble he chose some of the finest players New York has to offer: Ingrid Laubrock, Ralph Alessi, Kris Davis and Drew Gress.

Christian Broecking writes (liner notes): «With Obbligato, Rainey brings two familiar acquaintances from Jazz history to the fore – collective playing and improvising on Standards – the actual material itself, the well-known melodies and chord progressions are not overly taken apart.

With Obbligato he wanted to find his own way of playing the milestones of Jazz history.

1. Stella by Starlight (Victor Young) 5:15
2. Beatrice (Sam Rivers) 6:21
3. What Is This Thing Called Love (Cole Porter) 4:02
4. What's New (Bob Haggart) 10:35
5. There is no Greater Love (Isham Jones) 6:48
6. Float Upstream (Obbligato) 5:23
7. I Fall in Love too Easily (Jule Styne) 4:53

Ralph Alessi Trumpet
Ingrid Laubrock Saxophones
Kris Davis Piano
Drew Gress Bass
Tom Rainey Drums

Recorded at Brooklyn Recording in NYC by Andy Taub on January 19th, 2017. 
Mixed by Andy Taub on January 26th, 2017. Mastered by Alan Silverman at Arf! Productions Inc. on May 3rd, 2017. 
Cover art: Christine Reifenberger. Graphic design: Jonas Schoder. Photo: Peter Gannushkin. 
Liner notes: Christian Broecking. Executive production by Anja Illmaier. 
Produced by Tom Rainey and Intakt Records, Patrik Landolt.

Chris Speed Trio - Platinum on Tap (INTAKT RECORDS 2017)

This new album by Chris Speed's excellent trio with drummer Dave King and bassist Chris Tordini is in many ways Speed's most fully developed and personal work to date. Since arriving in New York in the early 1990s, he has become one of the most vital improvising musicians on the scene through work that has always ranged widely, moving from a jazz base out through various forms of folk, classical and rock music. 

With the formation of this trio Speed has reversed course: moving from these outer explorations back into something that is unquestionably jazz. What is most striking about this record is that the early jazz influences are now fully center stage. Instead of being one of a number of competing musical influences, some kind of feeling of the aesthetic of Lester Young is now at the center of everything. At a time when many jazz players are continuing to look further and further outside the tradition, this is a group returning from other explorations to work deep within the jazz tradition, bringing everything else they've learned back in …

The resulting music is joyful and generous and Speed has an uncanny knack for coming up with tunes that can create a whole worlds behind an often catchy melodic surface. (Anthony Burr, from the liner notes)

1. Red Hook Nights 4:17
2. Arrival High 6:51
3. Buffalo 15 4:31
4. Crossface Cradle 5:28
5. Pretty Much 4:26
6. Crooked Teeth 3:52
7. Platinum on Tap 3:50
8. Stardust 5:31
9. Torking 3:44
10. Spirits 2:41

Chris Speed: Tenor Saxophone
Chris Tordini: Acoustic Bass
Dave King: Drums

Music by Chris Speed keopolo music BMI except "Spirits" byAlbert Ayler and "Stardust" by Hoagy Carmichael. 
Recorded live at Brooklyn Recording on March 3, 2016, by Andy Taub. Assisted by Aurélien Jubault. 
Mastered March 2017 by Huntley Miller HM Mastering Minneapolis.
Cover art and graphic design: Jonas Schoder. Liner notes: Anthony Burr. Photo: Bradley Bambarger.
Executive production by Florian Keller. Produced by Chris Speed and Intakt Records, Patrik Landolt. 
Published by Intakt Records.