Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Playlist for Tom Ossana – The Thin Edge – June 14, 2017 MST 7:00 to 9:00p.m.

http://www.kzmu.org/listen.m3u ~ Use this link to access the show online.

TMT: Toren-Morris-Taddeo Trio - Star Ballad (2017)

TMT Trio is a collaboration of Cat Toren (piano), Angela Morris (saxophone) and Anthony Taddeo (drums). Based between NYC and Cleveland, they perform original compositions and collaborative improvisations. TMT's bass-free instrumentation showcases the multifaceted chamber music character of the piano and explores the extension of the roles of all three instruments.

01. Michigan Central Station 06:40
02. Comet Song 07:04
03. Lining 08:22
04. Construction 11:17
05. Star Ballad 06:03
06. ESP 05:07

Angela Morris – tenor saxophone
Cat Toren – piano
Anthony Taddeo – drums

Sam Blakeslee – trombone on track 1

Tracks 1, 4 composed by Cat Toren (SOCAN)
Tracks 2, 5 composed by Anthony Taddeo (BMI)
Track 2 composed by Angela Morris (SOCAN)
Track 6 composed by Wayne Shorter, arranged by Anthony Taddeo

Released June 6, 2017

Recorded by Cass Jewel live at the Bop Stop, Cleveland (tracks 1,4,5)
and Tom Tedesco at Tedesco Studios, NJ (tracks 2,3,6)
Mixed by Nathaniel Morgan
Mastered by Kent Heckman
Artwork by Jerry Birchfield
Design by Hannah Taddeo

Matt Piet & Tim Daisy - strike one; strike too (2017)

Matt Piet is an improvising pianist who resides and works in Chicago, IL

1. laissez-faire 21:26
2. the empathy and the entropy 14:10

Matt Piet - piano 
Tim Daisy - drums, percussion 

Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Dave Zuchowski

Jukka Perko Tritone - Dizzy (WE JAZZ RECORDS 2017)

Alto sax man Jukka Perko, one of Finland's leading jazz artists, presents a new project Tritone, where he joins forces with the dynamic rhythm section of Antti Lötjönen and Teppo Teddy Rok Mäkynen (who have appeared together in projects such as Teddy's West Coasters, The Five Corners Quintet, Timo Lassy Band, Verneri Pohjola Quartet, etc.). Perko, once a member of the Dizzy Gillespie Big Band, has put together a set of tunes made famous by Dizzy for the re-evaluation by the highly talented trio. The time is right now, Dizzy's 100th anniversary, 30 years since the alto sax player, back then a teenage sensation, shared the stages with the likes of Sam Rivers, Jerry Dodgion, Jon Faddis, and of course Dizzy himself.

The results are stunning. On Dizzy, Jukka Perko Tritone showcases what small group jazz sounds like at its best. The group breathes the music naturally, taking cues from each other to expand the compositions onto a new level, their own personal music. The tracks brim with innovation and the sheer joys of playing.

As Perko himself put it: It's not about what Dizzy's music means to us, but rather what we can bring to it. We're adding our own piece onto the mosaic which makes up modern jazz.

The release comes as both vinyl LP and CD versions, complete with a booklet including liner notes documenting Perko's time in the Dizzy Gillespie Big Band, and rare archival material from press clips to touring schedules. The vinyl includes free digital download with 4 bonus tracks.

"Holy mackerel! Everything works: the idea, the execution, and the amazing trio."
Andreas Müller, Deutschlandradio Kultur

"Playful and cool. It's remarkable how much the trio gets out of these compositions."
Jan-Erik Holmberg, HBL newspaper

"The jazz gem of the year."
Venla-Vanamo Asikainen, Karjalainen newspaper

"The perfect jazz record."
Pentti Ronkanen, Suomijazz.com

01. Bebop 07:00
02. 'Round Midnight 07:18
03. A Night In Tunisia 09:46
04. Cubano Be, Cubano Bop 06:29
05. Dizzy's Business 04:44
06. Con Alma 10:02
07. Lover Come Back to Me 05:14
08. Woody 'n' You 05:12
09. One Bass Hit 05:52
10. Tin Tin Deo 04:36

Jukka Perko, alto sax
Antti Lötjönen, bass
Teppo Mäkynen, drums

Music arranged by Jukka Perko Tritone 
Choir vocals on "Cubano Be, Cubano Bop" by KYN / KVL 
Recorded by Risto Hemmi at Finnvox Studios, Helsinki on 11-12 Oct 2016 
Mixed by Teppo Mäkynen & Risto Hemmi at Finnvox Studios 
Mastered by Pauli Saastamoinen at Finnvox Studios 
Additional vinyl mastering by Jukka Sarapää at Timmion Cutting Lab 
Produced by Teppo Mäkynen 
Design & liner notes by Matti Nives

Fabio Miano - Fabio Miano New York Quintet (BLAU RECORDS 2017)

Fabio Miano New York Quintet es el resultado final de una provechosa gira llevada a cabo en abril de 2008 por distintas ciudades españolas, pero como casi todos los buenos discos tiene raíces más sólidas.

Miano, Stewart y Rotondi son amigos y colaboradores desde hace muchos años. El pianista ha sido su acompañante preferido en las numerosas visitas a España de ambos; además con Stewart ya grabó “Buen rollo” (Fresh Sound, 1999), en cuarteto. Aunque Miano no había tocado nunca con ellos, Webber y Farnsworth fueron una elección natural, por su afinidad musical y su excelencia artística.

Al oyente le queda la sensación de haber asistido durante cincuenta minutos al encuentro de unos viejos amigos que conocen el secreto del jazz y disfrutan compartiéndolo.

1. Blues for Rojo 8:47
2. Head and Shoulders 4:52
3. Shades of Jackie Mac 5:41
4. Farewell Pulcinella 6:27
5. Reverence 6:06
6. Sweet and Lovely 6:43
7. End of a Love Affair 7:10
8. The Touch of Your Lips 5:04
9. Skippy 0:48

Fabio Miano piano
Jim Rotondi trompeta y fliscorno
Grant Stewart saxo tenor
John Webber bajo
Joe Farnsworth percusión