Thursday, September 30, 2021

Sun on a Tree - The Cool of the Afternoon

De quel bois se chauffe Sun on a Tree? De groove et de poésie. Le trio passe d’une ballade pop à un conte oriental, d’une métrique bancale au doux déhanchement d’une gazelle, d’un rugissement saturé au rebond rapide d’une baguette sur la cymbale ride. Même quand l’électricité s’en mêle, le résultat est coloré, et l’énergie solaire.

1. The Cool of the Afternoon 03:57
2. Broken Pearl (avec Yael Miller) 07:37
3. Cravin' 04:26
4. Gazela 04:43
5. Baba Marta 05:38
6. À la nuit mourante (avec Yael Miller) 03:39
7. Eyn Shem 08:25
8. Amargo en la Rambla 06:35
9. Jordanism 04:04
10. Try This 07:11
11. À Delphes 04:33
12. Étrange réalité 04:46
13. Eyn Shem (avec Yael Miller) 05:19
14. À la nuit mourante 03:40

Yann Emery - contrebasse
Nicolas Lambert - guitare
Samuel Jakubec - batterie

Yael Miller - voix

Compositions : Yann Emery (1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14),
Nicolas Lambert (5, 8, 9, 11), Jérôme Gloppe (7, 13),
Jordan Anastassov (5, 9), Samuel Jakubec (10).
Textes : Yael Miller (2, 7), Yann Emery (6)
Enregistrement : Stéphane Loup et Johi Vergères (
Enregistrement voix : Frank Sanvoisin (
Mixage : Stéphane Metraux
Mastering : Christian Guggenbühl
Design : Sebastiàn Bravo (

Jeff Miles - The Periphery of Knowing

1. The Overture 05:41
2. Moya 08:04
3. Aeryn Mourns 09:18
4. Crystal Spire 07:04
5. Cellar Door 04:37
6. Aenea 08:25
7. Usul - The Base of the Pillar 08:29
8. Thearle's Festival 08:38
9. Vesak 07:09

Jeff Miles\ Electric Guitar, Synth Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Synthesizers, Violin, Percussion, Vocals
Steve Brickman\ Synthesizers, Acoustic Piano, Percussion, Vocals
Kyle Wilson\ Tenor Saxophone
Curtis Macdonald\ Alto Saxophone
Julian Shore\ Acoustic Piano
Zach Lapidus\ Synthesizers
Ben Monder\ Guitar (Track 7, 9)
Danny Weller\ Acoustic Bass
Rodrigo Recabarren\ Drums (Track 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 9)
Peter Kronreif\ Drums (Track 1, 5, 7, 8)
Rogerio Boccato\ Percussion
Alessandra Levy\ Vocals

Produced by Jeff Miles
Recorded by Michael Perez-Cisneros March 2014
Mixed by Matt LaPoint
Mastered by Scott Hull
Edited by Joshua Kwassman
Artwork by Jaime Zuverza
Additional Recording by Steve Brickman and Zach Lapidus
Vocal Arrangements by Steve Brickman and Jeff Miles
“The Overture” Arranged by Jeff Miles and Julian Shore

Mark de Clive Lowe and Cosmic Vibrations - 'OLBAP' reimagined by Mark de Clive Lowe (Spiritmuse Records)

Spiritmuse records is celebrating the one year anniversary of the universally loved spiritual jazz opus, ‘Pathways & Passages’, by legendary vocalist Dwight Trible, and LA jazz supergroup, Cosmic Vibrations. To mark the occasion they are proud to release a special remix of album highlight “OLBAP”, reworked with true love and care into a broken beat masterpiece by the electronic jazz pioneer and pianist, Mark De Clive Lowe.

Mark de Clive-Lowe magically balances virtuoso piano playing with addictive synth grooves and live remixing flair. He left his home in New Zealand at an early age, finding himself at the center of London’s underground music scene, “joining-the-dots” between jazz and electronic music. Becoming a leading figure of the burgeoning broken beat and wider electronic jazz scenes, MdCL was championed by the likes of Gilles Peterson and revolutionised the live potential of underground sound, before moving to LA in 2008.

Cosmic Vibrations is a supergroup of heavyweight musicians with a vast combined experience, an ensemble of 6 souls, all based in LA, who approach improvisation full of spirit and without ego. As Kevin Le Gendre put it for Jazzwise, “this is a west coast supergroup whose members have the kind of credits that cover a huge swathe of black music history: Dizzy Gillespie, Horace Silver, Ramsey Lewis, Minnie Riperton and Nicole Mitchell, to name but some. That wealth of experience is priceless, and any one of the 11 songs on offer thus carries the kind of gravitas that takes Cosmic Vibrations beyond the potential cliché of ‘deep jazz’ and into the realm of deep meditation.”

Fronted by Dwight Trible, undoubtedly the most acclaimed and in-demand vocalist currently working in the realms of spiritual jazz, the band has been performing steadily over the last four years, building a reputation in LA and further afield for their mesmerising performances. ‘Pathways & Passages’ marked the first time that their transcendental sound had been recorded and publicly released.

This remix marks a perfect inter-generational meeting of LA’s long vibrant music scene. Dwight’s central role in LA is difficult to miss, from directing the Horace Tapscott Pan Afrikan Peoples Arkestra and leading the incredible Build An Ark ensemble alongside Carlos Niño, to forming the deep jazz supergroup, Cosmic Vibrations. Likewise, since moving to LA, Mark has united a multi-generational who’s who of LA and the world’s most respected jazz, soul, hip hop and electronic artists at his much loved CHURCH club night, and earned the role of Founding Artist in Residence for La Ceiba Festival.

The “OLBAP” remix is due for release on September 28. It marks the perfect step in Trible and MdCL’s musical relationship, since the latter contributed played piano on Trible’s acclaimed “Mothership” album, alongside Kamasi Washington, Carlos Niño and Miguel Atwood-Ferguson.

OLBAP is from the debut album by Cosmic Vibrations ft Dwight Trible 'Pathways & Passages'.

1. OLBAP reimagined by Mark de Clive Lowe 05:22
2. OLBAP by Cosmic Vibrations 09:32

Dwight Trible voice /kalimba
John B Williams acoustic bass
Derf Reklaw congas / percussion / flute
Pablo Calogero tenor sax / bass clarinet / woodwinds / flutes
Christopher Garcia - indigenous percussion
Breeze Smith - drums / percussion / loops

Tatsuhisa Yamamoto - Agrro pan (SUPERPANG)

1. Agrro pan 34:45

Recorded at Studio ZOT, Hoshi to Niji no recording studio, Amorphone in January - July 2021.

Guitar: Riki Hidaka
Field recording: Marty Holoubek
Mastering: Jim O'Rourke