Wednesday, July 7, 2021

Chika Tanaka + Tatsuya Sakurai - Waltz of May (July 2021)

1. Where or When 02:26
2. It Might as Well Be Spring 03:35
3. After You've Gone 03:04
4. Comes Love 03:37
5. My Romance 02:58
6. How About You 01:57
7. La Vie en Rose 02:07
8. Que Sera sera 03:23
9. Solamente Una Vez 02:23
10. Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most 04:15
11. Waltz of May 03:35

Vocal: Chika Tanaka
Guitar: Tatsuya Sakurai

Recording studio: Big Orange sheep, Brooklyn, NY on May 31th, June 6th 2019
Engineered by Kevin Thomas
Mixed and mastered by Chris Benham
Art Direction & Design by Dan Ichimoto
Photography by Yoko Haraoka

Nicola Guida - Speleology (2021)

Firmly steeped in tradition yet audibly contemporary, 'Speleology' is harmonically and melodically rich, rhythmically virile, and focused on in-the-moment improv. The combination of abandon and control is exceptional throughout, and a convincing demonstration of Nicola's inventive writing and prodigious technique.

London-based pianist, composer and producer, Nicola Guida is considered as one of the most inspired Italian Jazz musicians of the new generation. A disciplined virtuoso and a genre-bending musician, Guida's style is both cerebral and underground.

1. Anamnesys 06:03
2. Event Horizon
3. Sycophant
4. Come Inside
5. Maximum Depth Is Its Surface
6. L'Espace Du Dedans
7. The Blade Sensei. Suite For A Suicide Shokunin (Feat. Greg Osby)
8. L'Espace Du Dedans (Koralle Redeux) [ONLY ON VINYL]

Nicola Guida - piano, synth, vox, compositions, arrangements, prod.
Eddy Cicchetti - double bass
Dario Panza - drums
Karnival Kid - rap
Francesco Fratini - trumpet
Greg Osby - alto sax

Davide Abbruzzese - recording
Davide Palmiotto - mixing
Emanuele Bossi - mastering

Jesse Draxler - artwork design
Luis Quiroz - layout project

Karolina Wielocha - photo shooting

Emma Johnson's Gravy Boat - Worry Not (July 2021)

Worry Not is the debut from Leeds based cinematic quintet, Emma Johnson's Gravy Boat.

Emma's writing is inspired by cinematic scores as well as a wide range of jazz from hard bop to modern tenor/guitar led quintets, and this combines to create compositions that evoke imagery and emotions for the listener. The album combines strong melodies with improvised sections that give each member of the group space to shine.

As an album, Worry Not tackles themes of stress and worry and the process of overcoming those things to find a sense of calm. The imagery uses a lake setting and various weathers as a parallel to the coming and going of these emotions and the whole album is a cathartic listening experience, inspired by a place where Emma is at her most worry-free.

Written after a house flood and on the brink of the pandemic, the album (and the year awaiting it's creation) encapsulate a process of having worries, acknowledging and dealing with them, and allowing them to wash away.

Worry Not is produced with thanks to Help Musicians, the Peter Whittingham Award and a whole host of brilliant Kickstarter backers.

1. Setting Sail
2. Vertical Planes
3. Fully Fledged
4. Interlude
5. Waterlogged
6. Hold Me Tight
7. Worry Not
8. Sun Stones

Saxophone & Compositions - Emma Johnson
Electric Guitar - Fergus Vickers
Piano - Richard Jones
Double Bass - Angus Milne
Drums - Steve Hanley

Tracks 1-7 Recorded by George Atkins at 80 Hertz Studios
Track 8 Recorded by Barkley McKay at Valley Wood Studios

Mixing Engineer - Tom Orrell
Mastering Engineer - Tim Thomas
Printing - Pure Music
Artwork - Or8 Design