Saturday, November 6, 2021

ADVANCE: Cecile McLorin Salvant - Ghost Song (March 4, 2022 Nonesuch Records)

1. Wuthering Heights
2. Optimistic Voices / No Love Dying
3. Ghost Song
4. Obligation
5. Until
6. I Lost My Mind
7. Moon Song
8. Trail Mix
9. The World Is Mean
10. Dead Poplar
11. Thunderclouds
12. Unquiet Grave

Bryan Murray & Jon Lundbom - Beats by Balto! Vol. 2 (November 17, 2021 Chant Records)

Jon Lundbom (Big Five Chord) and Bryan Murray, a.k.a. Balto Exclamationpoint (Bryan and the Haggards) are back for their second Chant Records release. Joined by an all-star roster of accomplices, Lundbom and Murray blend hip-hop-style beat construction with avant-jazz and much more in a collage of sounds from various corners of the musical universe. Beats by Balto! Vol. 2 features performances from Jon Irabagon, Moppa Elliott, Nick Millevoi, and many more. A funky, wild, and adventurous collection of music with virtuosic improvisation and revelous glee, Beats by Balto! Vol. 2 is sure to please adventurous music lovers throughout Planet Earth and beyond. All artists' proceeds to benefit the Jazz Foundation of America's COVID-19 Relief Fund:

1. Battalions
2. Beat Like This
3. Big P. (Interlude)
4. Tears and Fists
5. Ex Machina
6. Cap'n Crunch (Interlude)
7. Truck Gun
8. Enter!
9. Weak Sauce (Interlude)
10. Hot Shit

Bryan Murray - soprano, alto, c-melody, and tenor saxophones
Jon Irabagon - sopranino, soprano, mezzo-soprano, balto!, and tenor saxophones; alto clarinet
Jon Lundbom - guitar
Matt Kanelos - keyboard
Moppa Elliott - bass
Nick Millevoi - guitar
Richard Mikel - bass
Sam Kulik - trombone
Beats by Balto Exclamationpoint

Battalions - Jon Lundbom
Beat Like This - Jon Lundbom
Big P. - Bryan Murray
Ex Machina - Jon Lundbom
Tears and Fists - Jon Lundbom
Cap'n Crunch - Bryan Murray
Truck Gun - Jon Lundbom
Enter! - Jon Lundbom
Weak Sauce - Bryan Murray
Hot Shit - Jon Lundbom

All songs composed to beats constructed by Balto! Exclamationpoint
Recorded across the country, assembled in quarantine at Balto! World Headquarters
Mastered by Louie Lino at Resonate Music
Produced by Bryan Murray and Jon Lundbom

Akira Sakata & Giovanni Di Domenico - And Life Also Same (November 2021)

Music can be learned on the road. And life also same.

A mind-blowing collaborative artefact from the long-standing, prolific partnership between the seminal Japanese saxophonist Akira Sakata and the Italian pianist and composer Giovanni Di Domenico.

Born in 1945 and trained as a marine biologist, for decades Akira Sakata has stood at the forefront of Japanese jazz and improvisation, first emerging during the early '70s as a member of the Yamashita Yosuke Trio, before venturing out as a solo performer, recording widely and collaborating with a vast number of distinguished players from the global scene.

Giovanni Di Domenico, currently based in Brussels, over the last two decades has emerged as a definitive voice, bridging improvised music and advanced forms of electroacoustic music, producing a discography of critically heralded solo efforts, and intimate collaborations with Jim O'Rourke, Tatsuhisa Yamamoto, Arve Henriksen, Alexandra Grimal, Nate Wooley, Chris Corsano, and others. His collaboration with Sakata began during the 2010s and has since produced nine releases with numerous configurations and line-ups.

While most of Di Domenico’s recent releases have veered toward the electronic and electroacoustic realm, "And Life Also Same" - stretching across a full LP and a 7" - refreshingly encounters him returning to his roots as an absolutely brilliant pianist. Recorded in May of 2018 at Studio 107, Radio France, both players are in top form, firing out complex arrangements and clusters of tonal interventions that collide in a stunning display of conversant artistry, ranging from restrained passages within which Sakata delivers beautiful primal vocalizations backed by the patterns of Di Domenico’s notes, to full on hard blow free jazz fire. 

1. And Life Also Same 生活是即人生 08:03
2. Mahmah まあまあ 07:57
3. As Usual いつも通り 06:06
4. Gionsyoja / Hondo No Hunauta 祇園精舎 / 音戸の舟唄 09:31
5. Forest Fire 03:47
6. Go To Sleep 04:27

All music by Akira Sakata & Giovanni Di Domenico

Akira Sakata: alto sax, clarinet, vocals
Giovanni Di Domenico: piano

LP tracks recorded in May 2018 in Studio 107, Radio France

Mixed and mastered by Giovanni Di Domenico

Marc Jufer - Both (November 2021)

« Both » was born from the need to remain active in the creation and sharing of music during these difficult times that we are currently going through.

Playing with other people is essential for the creative process and vital for my own balance. A composition is meaningless before being played. Musicians brings it to life under their fingers, in their breath and above all, in their mind.

« Both » is 16 duet pieces, recorded between February and May 2021, composed specifically for each of the people who made me happy by accepting my invitation. Some are long time friends, some are people I had never played with before. There were even some first meetings in front of the microphones.

I learned a lot and thank all these wonderful people who, in one way or another, participated in the realization of this album. I’m grateful and so lucky to have lived these intimate moments shared with so much sincerity and generosity.

Finally, I would like to say that « Both » would not be what it is without the woman who has shared my life for so long, who gave me three wonderful daughters and who sublimated this album into a true work of art.
Marc Jufer sax and compositions
Marylène Jufer, Painting

Stefan Aeby, piano
Denis Corboz, fluegelhorn
Jésus Gomez, guitar
Loïc Grobéty, complemented double bass
Pierre Kuthan, double bass
Louis Matute, guitar
Martin Perret, drums
Cyril Regamey, drums
Julien Revilloud, guitar
Marcol Savoy, drums, fx & drum machine
Jean-Pierre Schaller, bass
Anne-Florence Schneider, vocal
Matthieu Trovato, piano
Marco von Orelli, cornet
Christian Weber, double bass
Yukari, flute

All compositions by Marc Jufer except C1 by Marc Jufer & Martin Perret
Painting / Marylène Jufer

Recording between Februray 30th and May 17th by Marc Jufer except A1 by Matthieu Trovato / A4 with Pierre Kuthan / A2, C1 & D3 by Marcol Savoy at « La Cave. » D1 by Massimo Bonomo / D2 by Christian Weber.

Mixing at « studio carte postale » by Massimo Bonomo and Marc Jufer except D3 at « La Cave. » by Marcol Savoy

Mastering at « studio carte postale » by Massimo Bonomo

Simon Nabatov - Loves (November 2021)

A suite for a large ensemble of 2 singers and 9 instrumentalists, based on excerpts from letter exchanges between famous couples of the art world - Anaïs Nin and Henry Miller, Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera, Georgia O'Keeffe and Alfred Stieglitz, among others.

1. Georgia 08:36
2. Amour Fou 05:21
3. Anaïs 08:51
4. Sylvia 04:21
5. Ella 09:24
6. Clara 10:34
7. Lili 06:01
8. Frida - Platotudes 06:01

Rebekka Ziegler - voice
Tobias Christl - voice
Udo Moll - trumpet
Janning Trumann - trombone
Leonhard Huhn - alto and soprano saxophones, clarinet
Sebastian Gille - tenor saxophone
Axel Porath - viola
Nathan Bontrager - cello
Stefan Schönegg - bass
Dominik Mahnig - drums
Simon Nabatov - piano, composition

all music by Simon Nabatov (GEMA)
published by Alissa Publishing/PRS
recorded in LOFT Cologne May 20 2021
recorded, mixed and mastered by Stefan Deistler
liner note by Stuart Broomer
photo by Stefan Deistler, cover design by Erich Teneta
produced by Simon Nabatov & Leo Feigin