Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Playlist for Tom Ossana – The Thin Edge – July 12, 2017 MST 7:00 to 9:00p.m.

http://www.kzmu.org/listen.m3u ~ Use this link to access the show online.

Cene Resnik Watch for Dogs Trio - Shades of Colors (NOT TWO RECORDS 2017)

01. Shades of colors
02. Kraljeva slika
03. Kosovelovo domotožje
04. Zemlja (Suite of Crngrob)
05. Volcano — The Steamer
06. Thieves came quietly
07. Agitación natural
08. Satellites
09. Articulation complete
10. Conversations that never stop

Cene Resnik – tenor saxophone
Giovanni Maier – double   bass
Zlatko Kaučič – drums, cymbals

Brötzmann / Swell / Nilssen-Love - Live in Tel Aviv (NOT TWO RECORDS 2017)

1. The Greasy Grind
2. Ticklish Pickle

Steve Swell – trombone
Paal Nilssen-Love – drums, percussion
Peter Brötzmann – saxophone, clarinet

Sigurdur Flosason & Lars Jansson Trio - Green Moss Black Sand (STORYVILLE RECORDS 2017)

Along with the Lars Jansson Trio, Flosason captures the Nordic nuances with fervour and precision. Lars Jansson is a Swedish jazz pianist and a composer, and the Lars Jansson Trio counts Jansson as well as the Dane Thomas Fonnesbæk on double bass, and the Swede Paul Svanberg on drums. Flosason is from Iceland and is trained as a classical alto saxophonist. Although he primarily plays jazz, he has worked extensively with various Scandinavian musicians such as Cathrine Legardh, Kjeld Lauritsen, and Kristian Leth, and has composed both jazz music and classical pieces. The musicianship, generosity and friendship of the group make the musical images of rural Iceland come to life.

01. Fragile Growth 5:23
02. Serenading the Moon 5:05
03. Black Sand 8:01
04. Stillness in the Storm 5:15
05. Green Sky 4:56
06. Lava 7:22
07. Spring Water 6:23
08. Slanting Rain 5:57
09. Moss 4:56
10. To the End of the World 6:35
11. Wasteland 5:30

Sigurdur Flosason: Alto Saxophone
Lars Jansson: Piano
Thomas Finnesbæk: Double Bass
Paul Svanberg: Drums