Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Mateus Gonsales - Mateus Gonsales Trio (2017)

Mateus Gonsales (piano): Natural de Londrina – PR. Formado em Jazz e MPB no Conservatório Musical e Dramático de Tatuí, em produção fonográfica pela UNOESTE (Presidente Prudente), e pós-graduado em Arranjo Musical pela Universidade Estadual de Londrina (UEL). Desenvolve atividades como produtor, arranjador e professor de piano, harmonia e improvisação.

Mateus Gonsales - Piano e Rhodes
Diogo Burka - Baixo
Roger Aleixo - Bateria

Tracks in

Jeff Platz - Neu Cabal (2017)

Jeff Platz - guitarist, composer, has toured extensively throughout the U.S. and Europe. He has performed in various music festivals world wide such as New York city’s “What is Jazz” festival, the “Heidelberg jazz festival” in Heidelberg Germany, Amsterdam's” Crossing Borders” festival and the Munster International Jazz festival in Munster Germany.

The Berlin based music journalist Wolf Kampmann writes, “Platz’s music is generous although never accidental. The secret of its uninhibited quality lies more in Platz’s playful use of the familiar where intuition, feeling, and memory are the most important navigational instruments”.

1. Seer & Seen 6:29
2. Dark Poppies 6:42
3. Springish 7:54
4. Trickle Down 7:10
5. Mr. Stone 7:01
6. Constellation 3:42
7. Hornet Breath 9:20
8. Hammer & Saw 7:19
9. Actual Size 3:59
10. Wrong Way Around 6:56

Daniel Carter woodwinds, trumpet, piano
Dmitry Ishenko acoustic bass
Dalius Naujokaitis drums, percussion

Vintage Orchestra - Smack Dab in the Middle (The Vocal Side of Thad Jones) GAYA MUSIC PRODUCTION 2017

The new recording by the Vintage Orchestra takes on quite a rare repertoire : the vocal music composed by the great trumpet player and composer Thad Jones. The instrumental music composed and arranged for his own big band is known all over the world and has been recorded and played by so many different bands, but Jones’ arrangements for a lead singer from 1965 to 1968 have never been recorded since, nor have the music charts been edited.

In order to play this music we asked Dominique Mandin, Stéphane Guillaume, François Biensan, Jon Boutellier and Erick Poirier to make transcriptions, not to copy the originals but mostly to create new interpretations of this repertoire for a band which has been working on Thad Jones’ music for the last 15 years. Denise King, internationally acclaimed American singer, and Walter Ricci, a very talented young singer, are the ideal voices for this laid aside repertoire, supported by the Vintage Orchestra.This new international project by The Vintage Orchestra is both daring and unexpected.

01. Get Out Of My Life (3:23)
02. Evil En Man Blues (3:35)
03. Yes Sir That's My Babe (3:35)
04. It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) (3:02)
05. Come Sunday (3:04)
06. Bye Bye Blackbird (2:35)
07. Smack Dab In The Middle (3:57)
08. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You (2:50)
09. Fine Brown Frame (3:22)
10. Hallelujah, I Love Her So (2:47)
11. I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town (4:13)
12. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) (2:57)

The Band:
Saxophones: Dominique Mandin / Olivier Zanot / Thomas Savy / David Sauzay / Jean-François Devèze
Trumpets: Erick Poirier / Lorenz Rainer / Fabien Mary / Julien Ecrepont
Trombones: Michael Ballue, Bastien Ballaz, Jerry Edwards, Martin Berlugue
Piano: Florent Gac
Bass: Yoni Zelnik
Drums: Andrea Michelutti

Guest vocalists: Denise King & Walter Ricci

Linda May Han Oh - Walk Against Wind (BIOPHILIA RECORDS 2017)

The art of mime, with its embrace of silence and pure physical expression, may seem like an unlikely source of inspiration for a jazz musician. But in “Walking Against the Wind,” one of Marcel Marceau’s best-loved pieces, bassist/composer Linda Oh found a stunning metaphor for the life of an artist. Marceau’s graceful but frustrated motion, which also inspired Michael Jackson’s iconic moonwalk, found the legendary mime fighting against invisible but pervasive forces while also embracing the beauty and pleasure to be found in taking the paths in life that offer greater challenges but also richer rewards. 

On her fourth album, Walk Against Wind, Oh explores both the challenges and the rich rewards of an artist’s journey. “Walk Against Wind is about the paths that we choose,” Oh explains. “Sometimes they end up being the harder paths, but in the long run they prove more fruitful.” 

The album is the spiritual successor to Oh’s acclaimed 2013 release Sun Pictures, with returning saxophonist Ben Wendel joined by guitarist Matthew Stevens drummer Justin Brown. 

In addition, pianist/keyboardist Fabian Almazan and Korean traditional musician Minji Park appear as special guests with the quartet, which has been workshopping Oh’s compositions at a variety of New York hotspots including the 55 Bar, the Jazz Gallery and Minton’s Harlem. - Shaun Brady

1. Lucid Lullaby 07:48
2. Firedancer 03:44
3. Speech Impediment 06:57
4. Perpluzzle 03:55
5. Walk Against Wind 07:28
6. Ikan Bilis 06:51
7. Mother Reason 04:16
8. Mantis 04:54
9. Deepsea Dancers 06:38
10. Midnight 06:42
11. Western 04:15

Linda Oh - acoustic bass 
Ben Wendel - tenor saxophone 
Matthew Stevens - guitar 
Justin Brown - drums 
Fabian Almazan - piano (tracks 2, 6, 10) 
Minji Park - janggu & kkwaenggwari (track 8) 

Recorded at Brooklyn Recording 
on March 1 & 2, 2016 
Engineered by Tyler MacDiarmid & Andy Taub 

Mixed and Mastered by David Darlington at Bass Hit Studios

Javo Barrera - Far From Home (2017)

Javier "Javo" Barrera es considerado como  uno de los músicos más prestigiosos como músico de sesión y en vivo. Su larga  trayectoria  y su versatilidad en muchas facetas musicales hacen que  ya sea  reconocido como  uno de los artistas más completos del panorama musical mundial.
Javo ha sido Director Musical y/o Baterísta de algunos de los artistas más aclamados del Latin-Pop, tales como: Franco De Vita ,La Quinta Estación, Alejandra Guzmán, Antonio Orozco, Carlos Baute, Emmanuel, Cristian Castro, y Natalia Jiménez, entre otros muchos.

Ha participado  en las grabaciones de muchos trabajos discográficos de artistas y grupos  como son: La Quinta Estación,  Gilberto Santa Rosa, Luis Fonsi, David Bisbal, Franco de Vita, Natalia Jiménez, por mencionar algunos de ellos.

En 2014  Javo Barrera se mudó a Los Angeles, EE.UU.  desde  la ciudad de México. Inmediatamente comenzó a trabajar en su álbum debut de Jazz contemporáneo "Far from home", donde el jazz, el funky, los ritmos latinos y más, se funden, se difunden y se confunden.

Para ello ha contado con la  colaboración de   los músicos más exitosos  del panorama   musical actual americano y  por tanto mundial, como es  el  trompetista Luis Aquino (de Marc Anthony/Elvis Crespo), con  pianistas de la talla de  Nick Smith (de Stanley Clarke), de Matt Rhode (American Idol), Milton Salcedo,Osmany Paredes ,y con el galardonado saxo/flauta, Najee, además del bajista Andrew Gouche  (Andre Crouch/Prínce).

El primer single de este disco “Far From Home” es "Just In Time", Najee, (producido por Javo y Najee)  y está previsto su lanzamiento  este  enero de 2017.

La presentación mundial y  lanzamiento del disco, cuya distribución mundial corre a cargo de Warner Music, tendrá lugar en Abril desde la ciudad de Los Angeles, y para  dar a conocer este nuevo trabajo discográfico Javo Barrera  y  su banda se embarcarán en una gira por U.S.A., Europa y Centroamérica en este mismo   año 2017. En Octubre está prevista la visita en concierto  a Europa y por tanto también a España  ( fechas exactas por confirmar).

En este trabajo discográfico  han participado reconocidos ingenieros de sonido y masterización entre los cuales destacan: Juan de Dios Martín, Rafa Sardina,  Juan Hidalgo de la Bella España.

1. Just In Time
2. Far From Home
3. Vibe 4
4. Gate 11
5. Arrival
6. Next To You
7. Petrushka
8. Waiting (part 1)
9. Waiting (part 2)
10. Waiting (part 3)
11. Just In Time