Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Summary for Tom Ossana – The Thin Edge – November 16, 2016 MST 7:00 to 9:00p.m. ~ Use this link to access the show online.

Morten Elbek - Star Eyes (GATEWAY MUSIC 2016)

Trioen har Morten Elbek, kendt som både altsaxofonist og guitarist i det Århusianske musikmiljø, i front, og han bliver bakket op af trommeslageren Johnnie McCoy og ikke mindst bassisten Jonathan Bremer, som blandt andet er kendt for sit samarbejde med Niels Lan Doky. Mathias Heise gæsteoptræder med kromatisk mundharpe på tre af numrene. Det særlige ved STAR EYES er, at kernen i sounden konsekvent er den spanske guitar. Den giver forlener numrene med antydningen af en latinsk stemning og i den henseende er harpen og guitaren et indlysende match.

Alle numrene på pladen hører til blandt jazzverdenens mest kendte standards, bortset fra det knap så kendte titelnummer, STAR EYES, og et enkelt originalt nummer skrevet af Morten Elbek.

1. Nancy (With the Laughing Face)
2. In Your Own Sweet Way
3. Stella By Starlight
4. I'll Remember April
5. Star Eyes
6. In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning
7. Here's That Rainy Day
8. You Don't Know What Jazz Is

Carsten Dahl Experience (feat. Jesper Zeuthen, Nils Davidsen & Stefan Pasborg) - Caleidoscopia (STORYVILLE RECORDS 2016)

The Carsten Dahl Experience is back with a new album, their fourth since their formation in 2007. It all began when renowned Danish jazz pianist Carsten Dahl decided to gather some of his favorite musicians from the Danish jazz stage for a line-up in what he called a “spiritual and musical vision pointing in a lyrical direction and towards abstract music” - a group whose aim was to grow wings with the creation of music. On Caleidoscopia, they manage to levitate once again.

The Carsten Dahl Experience consists of Carsten Dahl on piano, Jesper Zeuthen on altosax, Nils Davidsen on bass and Stefan Pasborg on drums. Even though they’ll be celebrating their decennial playing together next year, their friendship and understanding of one another doesn’t make their music trivial in any way; rather, it forces them to reach higher and more complicated grounds in order to bring forward musical surprises. It’s improvisational jazz at it’s best: The music multiplies and splits up in colourful patterns and rearranges itself into ever-varying themes and motifs; like the myriad of colours and form-shifting patterns you see when looking through a kaleidoscope.

"The quartet is the closest Denmark comes to having a Jazz super group. Here, Dahl's music gets the response it requires. [...]. It's in the contrasts between quiet moments and explosive instants that the album finds its greatest strengths. According with the album title, beauty appears kaleidoscopically in a wealth of musical colours."

Carsten Dahl (piano)
Jesper Zeuthen (alto sax)
Nils Davidsen (bass)
Stefan Pasborg (drums)

01. Nora
02. Furious
03. Caleidoscopia
04. The Canvas
05. STOP please STOP
06. Outside from the Inside
07. I'm Calling
08. Experience This!
09. Beautiful

Carl Winther - Deconstructing Mr. X (SteepleChase Productions ApS 2016)

Award winning jazz pianist/composer Carl Winther (b. 1984 in Denmark) has already established himself in the international elite instrumentalist circuit of younger generation. Growing up in a musical family with his father, renowned trumpeter Jens Winther (1960 – 2011) Carl embarked on his professional music career while still a teenager performing and recording with Billy Hart, Jerry Bergonzi, Bill Evans, George Garzone, Adam Nussbaum, Dick Oats, and Doug Raney to mention a few.

Carl Winther is an enterprising and original pianist and composer. He has toured all over the world, and is a representative of the high standard of Danish jazz internationally.” (Quintonic – album review)


All compositions by Carl Winther

2 SAGA 6:33
4 12 DECEMBER 6:03
5 UWAGA 4:09
7 SUNDAY 7:36
9 ODD BOP 3:53

Myele Manzanza - OnePointOne (Live at the Blue Whale) 2016

First Word are proud to present ‘OnePointOne’ from Myele Manzanza, recorded live at the legendary Blue Whale in Los Angeles. The son of a Congolese master percussionist, New Zealand born Myele first gained international attention as one third of NZ soul act, Electric Wire Hustle. After six years of performing, recording and touring with the band that he formed, he left in 2013 in order to release his solo debut One (BBE). 

By this time Myele had become an in-demand musician, culminating in 2014 when he joined dance music pioneer Theo Parrish as the drummer of his live outfit The Unit. As a drummer and a sideman he continues to tour internationally and collaborate with a broad range of artists including Mark de Clive-Lowe, FW label-mate Ross McHenry, Sorceress, Amp Fiddler, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Marcus Strickland, Recloose, Jordan Rakei and most recently joining Australian contemporary dance company, KAGE, in their forthcoming dance and drum based performance Out Of Earshot.

His roots in jazz and African rhythm, (as well as his childhood love of hip hop and dance music) bring a uniquely diverse take to his music. This is evident on OnePointOne, where he fuses a traditional jazz trio with a string quartet, underpinned with an undeniable hip-hop swagger. The album features the stellar talents of pianist/programmer Mark de Clive-Lowe, and the Quartetto Fantastico string quartet led by Miguel Atwood-Ferguson (Suite For Ma Dukes), virtuoso bassist Ben Shepherd and guest vocalists Nia Andrews and Charlie K. The dynamic rendition of City Of Atlantis was deftly arranged by Miguel Atwood-Ferguson and captured in a stunning live video by Eric Coleman of Mochilla (Timeless, Suite for Ma Dukes) 

As well as live takes on some of the material from his debut album, there are covers of Theo Parrish, Jill Scott and the late, great Bobby Hutcherson, capturing an intimate performance from a fearless artist at the hub of the resurgent West Coast Jazz scene.

01. A Love Eclectic 06:36
02. Absent Fade 06:25
03. 7 Bar Thing 08:24
04. Circumstances 03:57
05. Jeremy Sole Interlude 02:33
06. Love Is War For Miles 11:55
07. Montara 08:09
08. Everybody Isn't / A Long Walk 03:57
09. City Of Atlantis 07:27
10. Ben MF Shepherd 07:01

Fabrizio Graceffa - U-Turn (CHALLENGE RECORDS 2016)

On 'U-Turn', Fabrizio Graceffa is reunited with is longtime quartet featuring drummer Teun Verbruggen, bass player Boris Schmidt and trumpet player Jean Paul Estiévenart. The quartet is extended with first class musicians Nicolas Kummert (sax) and the young French trombonist Edouard Wallyn.

U-Turn is the second album by Belgium / Italian guitarist Fabrizio Graceffa. As on his previous album ‘Stories’ the influence of his musical heroes like Pat Metheny, John Scofield, Bill Frisell but also Jimi Hendrix and B.B King is clearly present. It is eclectic roadtrip through American and European jazz, folk, country, rock and even some classical elements. Like a musical road movie the music fits excellent while travelling!

01. Lupo  06:02
02. The Old Ship  07:25
03. 5.4  06:45
04. Self Control  08:06
05. Before You Go  05:59
06. Trois Fois Rien  09:45
07. Milton’s Dream  07:15
08. Neo  07:22
09. Something Is Missing  05:11
10. U-Turn  05:06

Fabrizio Graceffa (guitar & composition)
Jean-Paul Estiévenart (trumpet)
Nicolas Kummert (tenor sax)
Edouard Wallyn (trombone)
Boris Schmidt (double bass)
Teun Verbruggen (drums)
Jacques Pili (electric bass on 4, 8 & 10)