Monday, January 3, 2022

Samo Salamon - Dolphyology: Complete Eric Dolphy for Solo Guitar (January 10, 2022)

Besides Ornette Coleman, Eric Dolphy has probably been one of my biggest influences as well as reasons in the beginning why I wanted to play jazz and improvised music. Although Dolphy belongs to the jazz greats, in a way he is still such an underrated improviser and especially composer – having composed beautiful compositions throughout his fairly short career.

The idea of the project began by practicing at home alone during the many Covid lockdowns, rediscovering Dolphy’s music again. Furthermore, I was inspired to do this album by Miles Okazaki’s great solo guitar Monk project. We had a long talk this year via Skype and it was so great to hear how he approached Monk on solo guitar. In the same manner, I have tried to approach Dolphy, but in my own way. First I transcribed all the compositions by Dolphy and arranged them for solo guitar, trying out different techniques. In the end, I improvised on tunes – sometimes free improvisation and in other cases following the harmonic structure. I have played Dolphy's tunes throughout my musical career, improvising on them, but rarely in a solo setting; probably because of fear or respect. But now I was like, OK, let's do it: I told myself I should not be afraid to play single lines or be burdened by the great solo guitar musical heritage, which I immensely respect.

I recorded all the music at home with just one microphone in my living room which has beautiful acoustics. All the songs are first takes – therefore, sometimes there is a small glitch or noise in the background, such as my cat meowing in the background.

Hopefully you will enjoy this as much as I have during the creative and recording process!

Samo Salamon

1. Miss Movement 02:52
2. Serene 04:36
3. The Prophet 05:28
4. Miss Ann 03:00
5. Lady E 05:20
6. 17 West 02:30
7. April Fool 02:58
8. Something Sweet, Something Tender 05:00
9. Springtime 05:14
10. Hat and Beard 04:06
11. The Baron 04:12
12. Iron Man 02:32
13. South Street Exit 03:24
14. Inner Flight I 02:24
15. 245 03:54
16. Les 03:14
17. Lotsa Potsa 03:32
18. Straight Up and Down 04:44
19. Burning Spear 03:10
20. G.W. 04:02
21. Strength with Unity 03:42
22. Out to Lunch 03:06
23. Mandrake 03:34
24. Far Cry 02:14
25. In the Blues 03:02
26. Red Planet 03:50
27. Gazzelloni 02:56
28. Inner Flight II 03:02

Samo Šalamon – 6-string acoustic guitar, except mandoline on 14 (CD 1) and 12-string acoustic guitar on 6, 8, 11 (CD 1) and 5, 7 (CD 2)

All compositions by Eric Dolphy, solo guitar arrangements by Samo Salamon.

Recorded in April 2021 in Maribor.
Produced, mixed and mastered by Samo Salamon.
Cover and design by Kristijan Robič.

Dawan Muhammad - Preaching To The Choir (January 3, 2022)

1. Preachin To The Choir 04:57

Dawan Muhammad - Saxophones
Bobby Pierce - Hammond Organ
Tom Tonyan - Hammond Organ
Calvin Keys - Guitar
Billy Higgins - Drums
Harold Acey - Drums

Broede Schirmer Unit - Berlin, Germany (imaginary moments in a city) January 3, 2022

"Very exciting music, an excellent quartet"
(Bert Noglik, former curator of the Berlin Jazz Festival)

"Marvelous...very fine the whole thing..."
(fellow clarinetist Rudi Mahall)

Recorded live on one single afternoon in February 2020 shortly before the first covid lockdown at Tito Knapp's "Zentrifuge" in Berlin this is an absolutely singular album.
It captures the spontaneity and creativity of a real concert event.

There is no professional recording with harmonica as part of the ensemble in the field between Improvised Music and Contemporary Jazz that shows more musicality, exceptional sound conceptions & craftsmanship than "BERLIN, GERMANY" by the BROEDE SCHIRMER UNIT.

As Berlin still is my favorite city, we choose to find the titles for the music referring to certain places there.

1. Prominent Promenade on Planufer 11:55
2. Two im Monbijou 03:24
3. Viktoria Goes Parking 03:17
4. Sommerfrische Humboldt 15:55
5. Please Cross at Kaisersteg ! 03:49
6. West Ending 09:00

JAN RODER - bass
MAT BROEDE - harmonica, piano

Cliff Brown - Cliff Brown Sessions from '93 (January 2022)

A great collection of talent was brewing in Los Angeles back in 1993. 43rd & Degnan was the address that hosted Billy Higgins' World Stage where so many musicians co-mingled and honed their craft. Among these spartans of Jazz was formed the young hard-bop revivalist quintet Black/Note. Guitarist Cliff Brown hung out and jammed with these and other musicians and the recordings represented here are the results of his associations.

Five originally penned compositions by Brown are represented along with four other compositions by Ricky Ford (Lady A), Wes Montgomery (S.O.S.), Dexter Gordon (Bonna Rue) and Sonny Rollins (Oleo).

1. In The Meantime 06:27
2. S.O.S. 06:27
3. D - Mob 04:27
4. Eye Awaken 05:13
5. Lady A 06:33
6. Bonna Rue 05:59
7. I Grew A Mull 06:42
8. Oleo 06:06
9. B's Blues 07:17

Guitar - Cliff Brown
Drums - Willie Jones III
Acoustic Bass - Marcus Shelby
Electric Bass - James Manning
Alto Saxophone - James Mahone
Piano - Frank Strazzeri, Ark Sano, Greg Kurstin
Keyboards, Production - Art Zamora

Ellery Eskelin - From the Archives: Ellery Eskelin, Erik Deutsch, Allison Miller - Live in NYC, 2010 (January 2022)

1. Improvisation One 20:36
2. Improvisation Two 15:51
3. Improvisation Three 43:14

Ellery Eskelin - tenor saxophone
Erik Deutsch - organ
Allison Miller - drums

Brecht Forum, NYC, 2010

Recorded by Scott Friedlander

Ben Woodman Quartet - In Here Out There (January 2022)

Recorded in the summer of 2021, in a living room in Corvallis, OR

1. Prose 05:34
2. Judgement 03:39
3. Open Secret 05:43
4. Wildfire 04:42
5. Injera 05:19
6. Freefall 03:23
7. Ursulines 05:39
8. In Here Out There 02:42

Ben Woodman - trumpet
Michael Resnick - piano
David Resnick - drums
Wil Wilmington - bass

"Prose", "Open Secret", "Wildfire", "Ursulines" written by Ben Woodman
"Injera", "Judgement", "In Here Out There" written by Michael Resnick
"Freefall" written by David Resnick

Ada Bird Wolfe - An Egg (January 2022)

My first album of all original compositions, written in collaboration with my longtime musical director, Jamiesion Trotter.

1. An Egg 03:45
2. Behind the Mask 03:07
3. Ordinary Man 04:28

Ada Bird Wolfe (vocals, co-writer)
Jamieson Trotter (piano, arranger, co-writer)
Dan Lutz (bass)
Peter Buck (drums)
Scott Mayo (horns)

Innate - Growing (January 2022)

1. Springtide 03:24
2. Re Views 04:30
3. Here Again 03:24
4. Floating 01:44
5. A Beautiful Thing 02:54

All audio recorded on a Google Pixel 4a

EARadiate - amalgaSys

EARadiate's 5th full length album, we explore textures and tonalities with new horns, synths, and beings.

1. introTheme 00:37
2. stickySituation 05:13
3. dangerSideDown 04:01
4. myCircleIsAsquare 03:19
5. streetSweeper 02:55
6. excessiveHumanity 03:40
7. tangentialSpectre 07:08
8. imProg 05:57
9. wonsAndZeros 04:48
10. castingShadows 03:48
11. retroAction 07:36
12. warpeDrive 03:34

Joe Sorcic :: Drums + Percussion
Wesley Davis :: Trumpet + Synths + FX
Kris Nickeson :: Guitar + FX, Bass (Tracks 5, 8, 10)
Trevor Thill :: (Tracks 5, 8, 10)
Vince :: (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 7)
Name Withheld :: (Tracks 4, 6, 9, 11)

Recorded by Kris Nickeson at Microtone Studios, Westminster, CO
Mixed/Mastered by Kris Nickeson and Wesley Davis at Microtone Studios