Thursday, October 7, 2021

Takatsuki Trio Quartett with Tobias Delius and Axel Dörner - Berliner Quartette (October 16, 2021 577 Records)

As the world tentatively emerged from the pandemic in the summer of 2020, under the strict impositions of COVID regulations, Berlin-based Takatsuki Trio Quartett celebrated by organizing a monthly concert series at Kühlspot Social Club in Berlin. The Takatsuki Trio Quartett is comprised of three core members, Rieko Okuda (Piano, Voice), Antti Virtaranta (Bass) and Joshua Weitzel (Guitar, Shamisen) but they exclusively play as a larger ensemble, inviting other musicians to lend energy to their improvisational dynamic. Playing under the name, the “Berliner Quartette,” this album documents their performances with two influential figures in the German improvised music community.

The first track, an experimental 30-minute collaboration with Axel Dörner (Trumpet) makes space for Dorner’s bold command of his instrument alongside the track’s other avant-garde components. It gives way to the second track featuring Tobias Delius (Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet), an upbeat reprise with warm swingtime melodies and competing tensions. These short experimental projects precede a larger collaboration between the Takatsuki Trio Quartett and Silke Eberhard, available on 577 Records on November 5. Berliner Quartette will be released in CD and digital editions on October 16, 2021.

1. With Axel Dörner
2. With Tobias Delius

Tobias Delius – Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet
Axel Dörner - Trumpet
Rieko Okuda – Piano, Voice
Antti Virtaranta – Double Bass
Joshua Weitzel – Guitar, Shamisen

Recorded on June 25 (track 2) and September 24 (track 1), 2020 by Antti Virtaranta at Kühlspot Social Club, Berlin
Mixed and mastered by Antti Virtaranta

All music by Tobias Delius (BUMA/STEMRA), Axel Dörner (GEMA), Rieko Okuda (GEMA), Antti Virtaranta, Joshua Weitzel (GEMA)

Artwork by Christoph Kühl
Album design by Mark Smith

Orbit577 is part of 577 Records
Brooklyn, New York

The Kevin Brady Electric Quartet - Plan B (October 8, 2021 Ubuntu Music)

Ubuntu Music is delighted to announce the release of The Kevin Brady Electric Quartets upcoming worldwide album release entitled PLAN B on the 8th of October.

The Kevin Brady Electric Quartet has a clear aim of creating and producing new contemporary jazz and the impact of this has been immediate. Their performances have been critically acclaimed for their dynamism and musicality. Touring regularly, they have consolidated their worldwide reputation as a compelling live act. As quoted by The Telegraph UK, “This group display an enviable poise and togetherness”, winning the appreciation of discerning jazz audiences in the USA, Europe, UK, China. Their music embraces imaginative creativity and contributes to the evolution of exciting and engaging improvised music.

Plan B is the latest studio album by acclaimed drummer and composer, Kevin Brady. It features the stellar musical talents of U.S. saxophonist Seamus Blake, Bill Carrothers on Fender Rhodes, and bassist Dave Redmond. Brady’s ambition was to record an album that consisted of new, original compositions that explore improvisation in an electric quartet format. While tipping their collective hat to the music of the 1970s Miles Davis Group, along with the groove and funk based music of Herbie Hancock, many of the musical themes deal with the impact of what is happening in the world as we know it now. The music is hypnotically insistent, all with a lasting story of experience and optimism. 
1. Airbourne 06:25
2. Plan B 05:39
3. Short 'n' Sweet 08:55
4. Spindle Top 05:19
5. Suicide Squeeze 05:42
6. Quiet Beach 08:22
7. Out of the Blue 06:21
8. Wanderlust 09:02

Recorded & Mixed by Hally Music & Kevin Brady at Arthouse Studios, Naas, Co.Kildare,Ireland February 2020.
Assistant Engineer Fionn Shelley.
Mastered by Thomas Schmidt at Schmidt-Thon Studios,Munich,Germany.
Photography by Daragh Mc'Donagh Art Direction and Design by Dseny

Produced by Kevin Brady
Executive Producer Martin Hummel

Tracks 2,4,5,6,7 Composed by Kevin Brady
Tracks 1,3,8 by Bill Carrothers

Kevin Brady Endorses Zildjian Cymbals, Vic Firth Sticks & Evans Drumheads.

Satoko Fujii / Alister Spence - Any News (October 1, 2021)

Any News is an album of piano duets recorded over the internet between Kobe, Japan and Sydney, Australia during the Covid-19 pandemic. Satoko and Alister began to collaborate on this project early in 2020 and develop ideas for co-written piano duet pieces, meeting occasionally on the internet to rehearse and explore. This album is the result of three recording sessions in September 2021. It is the second duo release by Fujii and Spence, following on from their piano and fender rhodes album intelsat (2018, ASM007).

‘this is the sound of genuine discovery, founded upon decades of experience but unfettered by habit.’
Bill Meyer, Dusted Magazine (review of intelsat)

1. Dice Piece 2 04:29
2. Across the Equator 09:32
3. improvisation 1 05:46
4. The First Day of Autumn 11:07
5. Puzzle Piece 06:04
6. Dice Piece 3 05:03
7. Ping Pong 03:37
8. Improvisation 2 11:07
9. Dice Piece 1 03:57

Satoko Fujii – piano
Alister Spence – piano