Tuesday, May 4, 2021

Tim Berne / Chris Speed / Reid Anderson / Dave King - Broken Shadows (May 21, 2021 Intakt Records)

Broken Shadows brings together four luminaries of the American jazz scene: Tim Berne, Chris Speed, Reid Anderson and Dave King. Broken Shadows has very strong connections, intwos. Saxophonists Tim Berne and Chris Speed have been playing together since 1992; Bassist Reid Anderson and drummer Dave King – two thirds of the legendary band The Bad Plus –have been playing together for over 35 years.Named after an Ornette Coleman composition, this all-star project honors the legacy of the music of their idols and mentors Ornette Coleman, Dewey Redman, Charlie Haden and Julius Hemphill.

"Most all of the songs have melodies; infectious and singable.Songs you would want to put in your pocket and take them home.In a time of songs treated as vehicles for improvisation, with this band, the vehicle is the song", writes Branford Marsalis in the liner notes, celebrating the emotional power and impact of BrokenShadows: "Harmonic data does not create emotion; the ability to change color in ones sound does. This is something that Broken Shadows understand, be it explicit or implicit. The twelve tracks range from lamentation, or insouciant swagger, to utter joy, and all the colors in between."

1. Street Woman
2. Body
3. Toy Dance
4. Ecars
5. Civilization Day
6. Comme il Faut
7. Dogon A.D.
8. C.O.D.
9. Una Muy Bonita
10. Song for Ché
11. Walls-Bridges
12. Broken Shadows

Tim Berne: Alto Saxophone
Chris Speed: Tenor Saxophone
Reid Anderson: Bass
Dave King: Drums

Recorded and mixed by Marc Urselli May 21st and 22nd 2018 at East
Sound NYC, New York. First released 2019 vinyl only in a six records
box set on Newvelle Records (except Street Woman and Comme il
Faut). CD remastered December 2020 by Huntley Miller HM Mastering
Cover art and graphic design: Stephen Byram.
Liner notes: Branford Marsalis.
Booklet design: Fiona Ryan.
Copyright by Intakt Records, Patrik Landolt, Anja Illmaier, Florian Keller.