Tuesday, October 12, 2021

Nils Landgren Solo - Nature Boy (ACT Music)

The Man with the Red Horn. Nils Landgren’s nickname is apt. It brings to mind the fiery, coruscating energy with which the charismatic, soulful trombonist leads his Funk Unit. And yet there are many other facets to this hugely popular Swedish musician. In the course of a 40-year career, he has taken on many roles, producing albums, directing festivals, leading big bands, teaching in universities...And yet his musical personality also has a very different side, one that is much more delicate and softer. Ithas previously come to the fore in various contexts, notably at the end of the 1990s in his duo with Esbjörn Svensson and their groundbreaking interpretations of Swedish folk music on the albums "Swedish Folk Modern" and "Layers Of Light". He has also increasingly nurtured it as a singer of ballads, with a very appe...

1 Tänk att få vakna / Morning Has Broken ( traditional)02:52
2 Nature Boy ( Eden Ahbez)04:07
3 A Minor ( Nils Landgren)03:33
4 In a Sentimental Mood ( Duke Ellington)04:31
5 Solitude ( Duke Ellington)03:37
6 Värmlandsvisan ( traditional)02:56
7 Allt under himmelens fäste ( traditional)03:19
8 Der Mond ist aufgegangen ( traditional)02:55
9 Nu sjunker bullret ( traditional)03:11
10 Din klara sol går åter opp ( traditional)02:05
11 Som stjärnor små ( Evert Taube)03:17
12 Den blomstertid nu kommer ( traditional)03:23
13 Jag lyfter ögat mot himmelen ( traditional)02:58
14 Sov på min arm ( Evert Taube)02:05

Nils Landgren / trombone

Traditional music arranged by Nils Landgren, except otherwise indicated

Produced by the artist

Recorded by Nils Landgren at Ingelstorps Kyrka, February 4 & 19 and April 5, 2021, assisted by Beatrice Järås Landgren
Edited, mixed and mastered by Klaus Scheuermann, July 7 - 9, 2021

Cover art © Terry Winters, Echo (detail), 2020, ACT Art Collection

Lacquer Disc Cutting by Sidney Claire Meyer at Emil Berliner Studios Berlin