Friday, January 25, 2019

The Rain Dance Collective - The tempest (2019)

The Rain Dance Collective brings together five jazz musicians from France and Venezuela. In this project, the guitarist Francisco Garrido is joined by the quartet "two saxophones, bass, drums" of Nicolas Gegout, Quentin Thomas, Antoine Leonardon and Paul Lefevre. Inspired by the aesthetic universe of artists such as Kenny Wheeler, Ambrose Akinmusire, Ben Monder and Lage Lund, the band presents music with an spacious quality, sometimes mixed with Latin music, with a solid rhythm section supporting the melodic endeavors of each soloist. Melodic themes and improvisations rub shoulders in original compositions, offering each musician a wide space for expression and creativity.

1. The Tempest 04:14
2. Olympic Hide and Seek Final 07:33
3. Blues Dots in Space 05:38
4. Luna 05:18

Nicolas Gegout - Tenor Sax
Quentin Thomas - Alto Sax
Francisco Garrido - Guitar and Composition
Antoine Leonardon - Bass
Paul Lefevre - Drums

Adrien Legay- Production
Yacine Belmahi and Seba Selame- Production in "Luna"
Bob Meich- Drums on "Luna"