Thursday, May 31, 2018

Mark Soskin - Upper West Side Stories (SteepleChase Productions ApS 2018)

New York-based pianist/composer Mark Soskin, following the successful previous (his first SteepleChase release) trio album “Hearts And Minds”, returns to the studio with his dream rhythm section in pursuit of perfecting the art of piano trio jazz.

“…Here he is on his own ballgame as the leader of a vital, fine interacting trio … Soskin has a beautiful touch, a lyrical temper with unfailing ease. The music feels timeless and fresh as it often does when the recording session starts with the first take in house and completes in three and half hours,” (Ole Matthiessen – Jazz Special on SCCD 31834 “Hearts And Minds”)

“…This is a very mindful session and holds the mind from beginning to end.” 
(Robert D. Rusch – Papatamus on SCCD 31834)

1 I’VE NEVER BEEN IN LOVE BEFORE (Frank Loesser) 6:55
2 GLORIA’S STEP (Scott LaFaro) 5:35
3 REMEMBER (Steve Swallow) 6:10
4 UGLY BEAUTY (Thelonious Monk) 8:06
5 UMMG/UPPER WEST SIDE STROLL (Billy Strayhorn / Mark Soskin) 5:40
6 PEE WEE (Tony Williams) 6:41
7 UN POCO LOCO (Bud Powell) 5:10
8 PENSATIVA (Clare Fischer) 7:28
9 LISTENING ROOM (Mark Soskin) 5:49
10 SOIRÉE (Earl Zindars) 4:12
11 FEE-FI-FO-FUM (Wayne Shorter) 6:14

Mark Soskin piano
Jay Anderson bass
Adam Nussbaum drums