Monday, January 4, 2016

Klemens Marktl Sextet - December (2015)

Klemens Marktl Sextet

Seamus Blake (tenor & soprano sax)
John Ellis (tenor & soprano sax, bass clarinet)
Aaron Goldberg (piano)
Joe Locke (vibes)
Harish Raghavan (bass)
Klemens Marktl (drums)

01. Elveen 8:54
02. December 5:25
03. Prosit Neujahr 5:27
04. Sonf For Alex 6:33
05. Nina's Dream 5:52
06. Three Times 6:51
07. Bright Sparks 4:52
08. Traffic 5:05
09. "V" 5:59
10. Hymn 1:54

All tunes composed & arranged by Klemens Marktl

Recorded at the Samurai Hotel Recording Studio, Astoria, New York City, on April 8, 2015

Recording engineer: David Stoller
Mixing & mastering: Mike Marciano at Systems Two Studios, Brooklyn, New York

Klemens Marktl writes

Klemens Marktl - New CD out: “DECEMBER”  

I am very excited to announce the release of my new album DECEMBER on Fresh Sound New Talent Records! 

Every track on DECEMBER is one of my compositions, and the album features Seamus Blake (tenor & soprano sax), John Ellis (tenor/soprano sax & bass clarinet), Joe Locke (vibes), Aaron Goldberg (piano) and Harish Raghavan (bass). It’s been an amazing experience to be recording my own music with these fantastic musicians, and the music on the album perfectly reflects our great chemistry making music together.

“I don’t know anyone who loves jazz more than Klemens Marktl. He immerses himself in the music in a joyful way, and the results are evident on this new recording. He is rooted in tradition but is not bound by it, and has assembled a group of like-minded and forward-looking masters to execute his beautiful compositions.” —Joe Locke