Saturday, January 9, 2016

Dave Douglas Quintet - Brazen Heart (2015)

Dave's longstanding quintet, one of the best bands working in jazz today, featuring Jon Irabagon (saxophones), Matt Mitchell (piano), Linda Oh (bass) and Rudy Royston (drums). Brazen Heart is a heart-felt remembrance of Douglas' brother, featuring a batch of great new original compositions, as well as two spirituals, Deep River and There Is A Balm In Gilead. This new material grew out of the band's extensive travels around the United State and Europe in Douglas' 50th birthday year.

Dave Douglas - trumpet and compositions 
Jon Irabagon - saxophones 
Matt Mitchell - piano 
Linda Oh - bass 
Rudy Royston - drums

Released October 2, 2015

01. Brazen Heart 07:23
02. Deep River 03:58
03. Hawaiian Punch 07:31
04. Inure Phase 05:38
05. Lone Wolf 02:55
06. Miracle Gro 08:16
07. Ocean Spray 05:23
08. Pyrrhic Apology 07:34
09. There is a Balm in Gilead 06:23
10. Variable Current 04:21
11. Wake Up Claire 05:33