Saturday, December 3, 2016

Swell / Ullmann / Fred Lonberg-Holm / Zerang - The Chicago Plan (CLEAN FEED RECORDS 2016)

The Chicago Plan is Gebhard Ullmann (DE) – tenor saxophone, bass clarinet, octaver; Steve Swell (USA) – trombone; Fred Lonberg-Holm (USA) – cello, electronics; Michael Zerang (USA) – drums, percussion | Label: Clean Feed Records, 2016

Celebrating over ten years of collaborating together, Berlin saxophonist/composer, Gebhard Ullmann and NYC trombonist/composer Steve Swell join two of Chicago's finest improvising musicians; Fred Lonberg-Holm, cello/electronics and percussionist Michael Zerang for this new configuration. Building on the strength and ideals of those three cities the quartet creates enough fireworks to light up the night sky with their brilliant sound imagery. The Chicago Plan thoroughly breaks new ground for what Jazz and New Music ensembles' approach to what creative music should be.

"Here now was jazz energy. Here was meticulous virtuosity. Here was wild, driving rhythm and horns in a front-line part. Stopping on a dime, returning to the previous mood. Finding a way to end. The ebb and flow of formal composition and instantaneous improvisation is what makes this approach to music making so exciting" — Lazaro Vega, Jazz Director, Blue Lake Radio

1. Variations on a Master Plan, Pt 3. 6:02
2. Composite #10  18:45
3. Variations on a Master Plan, Pt 2 6:40
4. Rule #1 Make Sure You Can Play Your Own Tune 8:37
5. Déjà Vu 7:45
6. For Henry 7:46

Steve Swell  trombone
Gebhard Ullmann  tenor saxophone, bass clarinet
Fred Lonberg-Holm  cello, electronics
Michael Zerang  drums

Tracks 1, 3, 5 and 6 by Gebhard Ullmann (GEMA), 2 and 4 by by Steve Swell (Steve Swell Music, BMI)

Recorded on September 22nd, 2015 at Kingsize Sound Labs, Chicago, IL, by John Abbey | Mixed by Walter Quintus | Mastered by Walter Quintus

Produced by Steve Swell and Gebhard Ullman | Executive production by Pedro Costa for Trem Azul | Design by Travassos