jueves, 20 de noviembre de 2014

Vic Juris Trio - Songbook 2 (2002)

Guitarist Vic Juris triumphs again on Songbook 2, aided by bassist Michael Formanek and drummer Jeff Hirshfield. Like its predecessor, this album features mainly standards and jazz classics, with one Juris original -- the melodic, modulating waltz "One True Friend" -- thrown in for good measure. Juris' tone is modern but woody and full-bodied, leaping out in the mix. Formanek, taking over for Jay Anderson, supports Hirshfield's animated rhythms with a massive yet limber bass sound. Juris leads off with "Long Ago and Far Away" -- which happens also to be the opener on Adam Rogers' Art of the Invisible, released around the same time (the two versions are worth hearing back to back). Other highlights include John Lewis' "Django," Scott LaFaro's "Gloria's Step," and John Coltrane's "Giant Steps," as well as oft-overlooked items like "You Won't Forget Me" (played on acoustic guitar), "Golden Earrings," and Thelonious Monk's "Locomotive." ~ David R. Adler

Vic Juris, guitar
Michael Formanek, bass
Jeff Hirshfield, drums

01. Long Ago (And Far Away)
02. Poor Butterfly
03. Django
04. Swedish Pastry
05. You Won't Forget Me
06. Gloria's Step
07. Giant Steps
08. One True Friend
09. Golden Earrings
10. Peace
11. Locomotive


Vic Juris - Songbook (2001)

The excellent program on Songbook features fare both well-known ("Billie's Bounce," "All the Things You Are") and less familiar (Golson's "Touch Me Lightly"). But Juris takes lots of chances here. Bassist Jay Anderson and drummer Jeff Hirshfield appear on both records and work regularly with Juris, and it shows. Both are good at keeping things moving and staying out of people's way. Juris' work on classical guitar is impressive, especially his very intelligent reading of Django's "Nuages." Referring to the original and then going elsewhere, Juris reveals both sensitivity and serious chops along the way. But most notable is the startling solo rendition of Bill Evans' "Time Remembered." This is an inside player really reaching out, like Attila Zoller sometimes used to do, but going even further. Guitar-watchers should take note of this impressive and adventurous player.

Vic Juris, guitar
Jay anderson, bass
Jeff Hirshfield, drums

01. I Didn't Know What Time it Was
02. Billie's Bounce
03. I Won't Dance
04. Luiza
05. All the Things You Are
06. Touch Me Lightly
07. Nuages
08. Moment to Moment
09. Time Remembered
10. Songbook
11. Milestones


Vic Juris - Remembering Eric Dolphy (2000)

Vic Juris is a versatile and impressively accomplished guitarist. His playing exudes warmth, intelligence and respect for the tradition. Perhaps best of all, he seems to understand that the foregoing positives also apply to a legion of contemporary guitarists, and he looks for ways to set his work apart, in terms of sound, approach, or material. I have yet to warm up, however, to one of Juris' ways of sounding different: his use of a highly processed sound, which is present on most of Remembering Eric Dolphy.

I like almost everything else about the Dolphy tribute, from the covers to the interesting originals, to the playing of the sidemen, to the simple fact that a modern-mainstream stylist is making this gesture. Dick Oatts does a nice job on alto, tenor and flute. One quickly gets over the fear of comparing him to Dolphy. His style is closer to Lee Konitz, though his sound is a little harder. He seems to adjust his approach on the Dolphy tunes, creating phrases that are more abstract but still quite unlike those of the author. Juris gets off some great solos himself, especially on uptempo items like "South St. Exit" and "Out There." The tone thing distracts me more in the ensembles than the solos, but even having this problem I found much more to like than dislike on this gutsy release.

Vic Juris, guitar
Dick Oatts, alto sax, flute
Jay Anderson, bass
Jeff Hirshfield, drums

01. Miss Ann
02. Vaults
03. Latin's Lamp
04. Emphasizing Eric
05. Tone Rose
06. South St.Exit
07. Something Sweet, Something Tender
08. He Me
09. Gentle
10. Out There