miércoles, 17 de septiembre de 2014

Manuel Valera and New Cuban Express - In Motion (2014)

2013 Grammy-nominated pianist and composer Manuel Valera is a 34-year-old powerhouse who has taken New York by storm since relocating there from his native Cuba in 2000. Having worked with many of today's finest artists in the genre of Afro Cuban jazz, Valera made his Criss Cross debut on Brian Lynch's Conclave Vol. 2 (Criss 1331 CD)

Valera's maiden voyage for Criss Cross features his band, New Cuban Express, on a selection of originals that cover a good deal of ground, touching on both Latin and swing sensibilities.

Yosvany Terry on alto sax, Tom Guarna on guitar and Alex Sipiagin on trumpet make strong statements, while Valera tastefully uses the Fender Rhodes to add new colors to the ensemble mix. Bassist is Hans Glawischnig, on drums Ludwig Afonso, and Mauricio Herrera on percussion.

His strongest set as leader, Valera's In Motion marks the pianist and composer as a major talent on the rise.

1. Descargando (Manuel Valera)
2. Preamble (Manuel Valera)
3. Bantu (Manuel Valera)
4. No Puedo Ser Felix (J.A. Mendez)
5. Storyteller (Manuel Valera)
6. Mirrors (Manuel Valera)
7. Para Emiliano (Manuel Valera)
8. NYC (Manuel Valera)
9. Factors (Manuel Valera)

Manuel Valera (P / Fender Rhodes)
Yosvany Terry (As / Ss / Chekeré)
Tom Guarna (G)
Alex Sipiagin (Tp / Flh)
Hans Glawischnig (B)
Ludwig Alfonso (D)
Mauricio Herrera (Perc)

Recorded January 29, 2014 in Brooklyn, NY, USA by Michael Marciano

"Hearing is Everything" Peter Watkins


Aziza Mustafa Zadeh - Sevent Truth (1996)


01.Ay Dilber 5:25 
02.Lachin 3:43 
03.Interlude I 2:06 
04.Fly With Me Lyrics By – Aliagha Vakhid 7:07 
05.F# 4:18 
06.Desperation 6:21 
07.Daha... (Again) 4:53 
08.I Am Sad Music By [Based On Music By] – Vagif Mustafa Zadeh 4:55 
09.Interlude II Music By [Based On Music By] – Vagif Mustafa Zadeh 0:27 
10.Wild Beauty 4:34 
11.Seventh Truth 4:40 
12.Sea Monster Music By [Based On Music By] – Vagif Mustafa Zadeh 8:12

Producer, Composed By, Arranged By, Piano, Vocals, Mixed By, Mastered By – Aziza Mustafa Zadeh
Congas – Aziza Mustafa Zadeh (tracks: 1, 4, 10, 11, 12)
Drums – Ramesh Shotam* (tracks: 4)
Percussion [Indian] – Ramesh Shotam* (tracks: 1, 4, 11)

Recorded at Bauer Studio, Ludwigsburg, Germany in January and February 1996.


Jimmy Haslip featuring Joe Vannelli - NightFall (2010)

On Nightfall, Haslip’s first solo album since 2000’s Red Heat, he’s joined by keyboardist and producer Joe Vannelli for a set of heavily textured tracks characterized by multilayered keys and synths and programmed drums and percussion. Haslip’s awe-inspiring bass chops are amply on display, but the disc suffers from a certain sonic sameness. Several of Nightfall’s highlights, including the lush title track, the Latin-spiked “Casa De Oro” and the mellow “Palo Alto,” benefit from the presence of Mintzer or a smartly attuned horn section.

1. Empath (Composed By – Jimmy Haslip, Joe Vannelli)
2. Xango (Composed By – Jimmy Haslip, Joe Vannelli)
3. Casa De Oro (Composed By – Jimmy Haslip, Joe Vannelli)
4. The Third Man (Composed By – Jimmy Haslip, Joe Vannelli)
5. Nightfall (Composed By – Jimmy Haslip, Joe Vannelli)
6. Palo Alto (Composed By – Jimmy Haslip, Joe Vannelli)
7. Red Coral (Composed By – Jimmy Haslip, Joe Vannelli)
8. Deep Waters (Composed By – Jimmy Haslip, Joe Vannelli, Ross Vannelli)
9. On Sunday (Composed By – Jimmy Haslip, Joe Vannelli)

Backing Vocals – Carolyn Perry (tracks: 8), Darlene Perry (tracks: 8), Sharon Perry (tracks: 8)
Bass, Keyboards – Jimmy Haslip
Evi – Judd Miller (tracks: 7,8)
Flute – Katisse Buckingham (tracks: 6)
Guitar [Acoustic] – Ross Vannelli (tracks: 8)
Harp – Stella Castellucci (tracks: 5)
Keyboards [Programming] – Joe Vannelli
Percussion – Jason Hann, Jimmy Branly (tracks: 2,9)
Saxophone – Bob Mintzer, Steve Tavaglione
Trumpet – Wayne Bergeron
Vibraphone – Roger Burn (tracks: 3,6,9)
Vocals – Lori Perry (tracks: 8)


Helen Merrill - Jazz 'Round Midnight (1990)