viernes, 16 de enero de 2015 - Caio Afiune (2014)

Source: Bandcamp
Gab's Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆      

"Caio Afiune gave me his CD a week ago and I can't stop listening to it. I have played it for my wife and friends as well. His music takes you on a journey to a different culture. The playing is super and in the moment with real sensitivity and sophistication. They say God is in the details and his writing has such great detail and dynamics."

Jerry Bergonzi

"The new recording by Caio Afiune shows all the talent and musicality of this young guitarist, composer and arranger. Caio is a legitimate hybrid - he combines, in perfect doses, the music of his native Brazil and that of Jazz. And he has a very original voice."

Luciana Souza

1. Prebenda 11:31
2. Aftermath 06:57
3. Radamés y Maradona 09:44
4. Reconstrução 08:51
5. Overture 09:03
6. Dido 13:01
Caio Afiune - Guitar
Henrique Eisenmann - Piano
Simon Willson - Bass
Fernando Amaro - Drums
Hery Paz - Tenor Saxophone
Lihi Haruvi - Soprano Saxophone
Aaron Bahr - Trumpet

"Master your instrument, master the music 
& then forget all that & just play."
 - Charlie Parker -


Max Ionata & Dado Moroni - Two for Stevie (2014)

Max Ionata and Dado Moroni's latest album, produced by Jando Music and Via Veneto Jazz, is due for release on December 5, 2014. Following their tribute to Duke Ellington, Dado Moroni and Max Ionata come together again in yet another project dedicated to a legendary figure in the music scene, the iconic and incomparable Stevie Wonder.

01. Overjoyed
02. Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing
03. Isn't She Lovely
04. I Wish
05. Chan's Song
06. Love's in Need of Love Today
07. Have a Talk with God
08. Send One Your Love
09. You Are the Sunshine of My Life
10. The Secret Life of Plants
11. Ribbon in the Sky

Max Ionata, sax
Dado Moroni, piano and double bass

"Hearing is Everything" Peter Watkins


Marco Pacassoni Quartet (Special Guest Michel Camilo) - Happiness (2014)

An artist of immeasurable talent, as artistically gifted as he is technically proficient.

Brent Black /criticaljazz

Having walked away from contributing to major publications by choice my quest was to find the lyrical road less traveled, new artists with new voices and unique presentations. I began searching through Europe and while panning through the proverbial musical gold mine that is Italy, I discovered percussive instrumentalist, teacher and composer Marco Pacassoni and his 4tet. Some may ask, who? Pacassoni studied at Berklee under such luminaries as Jazz Master Gary Burton and the orchestral genius that is Vince Mendoza. The end result is a sound that borders on the cinematic while never losing an intimate lyrical presentation. A vibrant and far more percussive punch than his western contemporaries has Pacassoni walking a harmonic high wire without a net. The latest release features critically acclaimed pianist Michel Camilo.

Analyzing highlights would seem to be an exercise in futility as there is a remarkable consistency through Happiness while the melodic flow is meticulously manipulated in a myriad of presentations. "Michel" features the great Michel Camilo for a percussive onslaught of controlled sonic fury. They paint an aural landscape from a bold color palette while staying true to a distinct forward moving harmonic presentation that is the perfect storm of intensity and nuanced flavor. "On The Riverside" pulls from a more ambient contemporary base while lyrical conversations develop within the cast of musical co-conspirators. "Lullaby For Birdie" is an exquisite if not pristine ballad, cinematic in scope yet with an accessibility that transcends the norms of what traditional improvisational music is thought of here in the United States. "Metropolis" moves to the edge of the post modern fusion side yet never fully commits but allows the more cerebral presentation to challenge the listener as to what lyrical journey they may wish to experience.

Marco Pacassoni would be wildly accepted on any American stage or classroom. His almost equal use of the marimba takes what may have passed for an incredibly good release and moved Happiness into that special category of greatness that will be discussed for years to come. Virtually flawless.

1. Two Shades of Happiness
2. Metropoli
3. On The Riverside
4. Lullaby
5. Michel
6. Driving South
7. Mimu
8. Memory Tricks
9. Mi Concede Un Ballo?

Marco Pacassoni, vibes and marimba
Enzo Bocciero, piano and keyboards
Lorenzo De Angeli, semi-acoustic bass
Matteo Pantaleoni, drums and percussions

Special Guest
Michel Camilo, piano on "Michel"

"Hearing is Everything" Peter Watkins


Swallow / Talmor / Nussbaum - Singular Curves (2014)

Source: Jazz Times, Mike Shanley (Dec.2014)

Tenor saxophonist Ohad Talmor calls bass guitarist Steve Swallow’s arrangement of “Carolina Moon” “deceptively complicated” and “challenging.” But to listen to the version of the 1920s chestnut on this album, there doesn’t appear to be anything complex about it. That’s not a put-down, either. Talmor, Swallow and drummer Adam Nussbaum negotiate this song in a way that feels both snaky and languid. They also make it sound like something current rather than something old and quaint.

Singular Curves might be spare in terms of instrumentation, but melodically the trio sounds extremely rich. All three of the musicians contribute tunes. Talmor’s “It Did” has an angular quality similar to Thelonious Monk’s “Evidence”; on it, Swallow and Nussbaum follow the saxophonist rhythmically before they break into a steady groove. The group suggests Paul Motian’s touch with the rubato flow of Talmor’s “Meli Melo.” Swallow plays especially nimbly on a take of Paul Bley’s “Ups and Downs,” walking and simultaneously adding harmonies under Talmor’s solo. Elsewhere Talmor takes a tip from his friend Lee Konitz, improvising on “You Go to My Head” nearly all the way through before deciding to play the head.

Although Talmor and Swallow began working together more than 20 years ago, this is only their second album with Nussbaum, following 2009’s Playing in Traffic. Making a trio sound full like this might be a challenge, but they never break a sweat. If “Carolina Moon” proves to be their toughest hurdle, they make it sound easy—and enticing to anyone who’s listening.

Steve Swallow, electric bass
Ohad Talmor, tenor saxophone
Adam Nussbaum, drums

Produced by S. Swallow, O. Talmor & A. Nussbaum
Executive Producer: Marco Valente
Recording: Mountain Rest Studios, New Paltz, NY – USA
Engineer: Jay Anderson
Cover Photo: Jeff Preiss

01 It Did
02 Ups and Downs
03 Carolina Moon
04 Get Lost
05 Then Again
06 Meli Melo
07 Now Four 2
08 7 Things
09 Parallel Fifths
10 Flight to Missoula
11 Anything You Want
12 Warp
13 You Go to my Head