Monday, March 6, 2017

Jazz Is Phish - He Never Spoke a Word (2017)

The all-star Phish tribute band will take their new music on the road this spring with a series of unforgettable performances – celebrating a beloved, 30-year catalog – beginning with a show at Brooklyn’s adored Brooklyn Bowl on February 16th. The Jazz Is PHSH live show collects a rotating cast of esteemed musicians, fully embraced by the phan community and known to impress – information regarding additional tour dates (below) and featured musicians can be found HERE.

Jazz is PHSH is a collective of innovative jazz and jam musicians, who re-invent the music of Phish into a jazz-inspired, improvisational, instrumental soundscape. The group celebrates the music of Phish through a jazz filter, with an intense focus on legitimacy and un-matched musicianship. Jazz is PHSH’s authenticity is underscored by its lineup – featuring musicians who have toured with Phish and Trey Anastasio Band. The group has included such renowned musicians as Jeff Coffin (Dave Matthews Band), DennisChambers, Kofi Burbridge (Tedeschi Trucks Band), Chris Bullock (Snarky Puppy),Carl Gerhard (Phish’s Giant Country Horns), Michael Ray (Phish’s Cosmic Country Horns), Holly Bowling, Scott Flynn (Pretty Lights Live Band), among other powerhouse musicians – with the Chase Brothers at the helm.

The Chase Brothers – Adam and Matthew Chase – have worked tirelessly to pull this incredible act together. No strangers to the touring and session circuit, Adam and Matthew have performed and collaborated with a variety of world renowned artists including Santana, Aerosmith, Kiss, Crosby Stills and Nash, Derek Trucks, Dicky Betts, Victor Wooten, Oteil Burbridge, Kofi Burbridge as well as members of The James Brown Band, Bootsy Collins Band, Galactic, Lettuce, Trey Anastasio Band, Victor Wooten Band, Snarky Puppy, Trombone Shorty, Break Science, Pretty Lights Live Band, Aretha Franklin Band, Saturday Day Night Live Band, Cage The Elephant, The Word, Aquarium Rescue Unit, Jazz is Dead and many more.

01. Ghost
02. Cars Trucks Buses
03. Weight
04. Foam
05. 46 Days
06. Dog Log
07. Lawn Boy
08. Meat
09. Camel Walk
10. Magilla
11. Alumni Blues
12. A Letter to Jimmy Page-Alumni Blues

Matthew Chase: guitar
Adam Chase: drums
Anthony Wellington: bass
Chris DeAngelis: bass
Lenny Pettinelli: piano, organ
Holly Bowling: piano
Josh Thomas: keyboards
Jonathan Scales: steel pans
Carl Gerhard: trumpet
Michael Ray: trumpet
Scott Flynn: trombone
Derrick Johnson: trombone
Chris Bullock: tenor saxophone, flute
Jeff Coffin: tenor saxophone
Kofi Burbridge: flute