Thursday, January 21, 2016

Carlos Vega - Bird's Ticket (2016)

Source & Label: Origin Records

“Saxophonist Carlos Vega's band crackles...crafty arrangements, spirited group interplay, and ear-grabbing freshness and spontaneity in their soloing.” All About Jazz

Dynamic saxophonist and composer Carlos Vega pursued his passion for jazz in school during the day while deeply entrenched in Miami’s Latin music scene at night. The eclectic and electric musical experiences from that period helped form his unique approach that carried him through later work with Arturo Sandoval, Ira Sullivan, & Tito Puente. Moving to Chicago in 2005, his time spent there inspired his return from his present home in Tallahassee for the making of Bird’s Ticket, a set of ten Vega originals featuring four of Chicago’s finest, with Victor Garcia on trumpet, Stu Mindeman on piano, Josh Ramos on bass, and drummer Xavier Breaker. Carlos is on the faculty of Florida A&M University and is a current member of the Chicago Afro Latin Jazz Ensemble and trumpet legend Doc Severinsen’s Big Band.

01. A Confluence In Chi-Town ( 8:57)
02. Bird's Ticket ( 7:06)
03. Taurus On The Run (10:08)
04. Taurus And Virgo ( 7:23)
05. Dragon Rose ( 6:39)
06. Chicago Eight ( 6:41)
07. Elements ( 6:39)
08. The Wizard ( 8:54)
09. In Other Words ( 7:54)
10. Reflecting Pools ( 6:41)

Carlos Vega - Saxophone, Composer
Victor Garcia - Trumpet
Stu Mindeman - Piano, Rhodes
Josh Ramos - Acoustic Bass
Xavier Breaker - Drum set