Thursday, January 21, 2016

Roxy Coss - Restless Idealism (2016)

Source & Label: Origin Records

Best known for her work with trumpeter Jeremy Pelt's group, New York saxophonist / composer Roxy Coss developed the compositions and group concept for her second recording during a three-year residency of her Quintet at New York's famed Smoke Jazz Club. With Pelt on trumpet, long-time band members guitarist Alex Wintz and pianist Chris Pattishall, and the dynamic duo of bassist Dezron Douglas and drummer Willie Jones III, Roxy's created a thoughtful, highly emotive and undeniably fearless recording. Inspired by the Jazz Messengers, Wayne Shorter, and Kurt Rosenwinkel's group with Mark Turner, Coss further defines her own unique voice through these ten original compositions. "Just like Coltrane, Coss achieves a perfect balance of lyricism and intensity in her improvisations through a superb sense of timing, and her rhythmic and harmonic structures." - All About Jazz 

01. Don't Cross The Coss (4:10)
02. Waiting (6:31)
03. Push (5:09)
04. Persperctive (5:28)
05. Breaking Point (7:53)
06. Happiness Is A Choice (5:15)
07. Tricky (6:38)
08. The Story Of Fiona (5:39)
09. Almost My Own (6:41)
10. Recurring Dream (5:16)

Roxy Coss - Tenor and Soprano Saxophones
Jeremy Pelt - Trumpet
Alex Wintz - Guitar
Chris Pattishall - Piano
Dezron Douglas - Bass
Willie Jones III - Drum