Saturday, January 13, 2018

Jeff Baker - Phrases (OA2 RECORDS 2018)

Critically acclaimed vocalist JEFF BAKER returns with his 5th OA2 Records release, an alive and bristling set of originals and thoughtfully conceived pop and jazz standards. Collaborating with some of the most influential and compelling jazz musicians in the world today - Brian Blade, Steve Wilson, Marquis Hill, Clark Sommers, Geof Bradfield, and Gregory Uhlmann - Baker and his co-producer/musical director, pianist Darrell Grant, present a provocative collection of original songs and arrangements based on text by writers such as Pablo Neruda, J.D. Salinger, A.A. Milne and Salvador Plascencia. Certainly, his most ambitious and personal recording yet. "From all accounts, this charismatic crooner needs to be tracked closely. Mr. Baker has the potential to skyrocket to many accolade-coated triumphs." - JazzTrenzz

1 NERUDA 6:03 | Jeff Baker, BMI
2 AND SO IT GOES 8:56 | Billy Joel / arr. Jeff Baker
3 PEOPLE OF PAPER 5:39 | Jeff Baker
4 BALLAD OF THE SAD YOUNG MEN 7:37 | Frances Landsman & Thomas Wolf
arr. Jeff Baker, Darrell Grant, Ezra Weiss (string prelude), Justin Nielsen
5 HARBOR 8:05 | Clark Sommers & Jeff Baker
6 LOST 7:48 | Jeff Baker / arr. Jeff Baker, Darrell Grant, Thomas Barber
7 A HUNDRED LESS ONE 5:57 | Jeff Baker / arr. Jeff Baker, Darrell Grant (strings)
8 SALINGER 5:48 | Jeff Baker
9 NOT CAUSE I WANTED TO 6:57 | Bonnie Raitt / arr. Jeff Baker
10 STAY ALIVE 6:20 | Ryan Adams & Theodore Shapiro / arr. Darrell Grant
11 DON'T WORRY BOUT ME 5:57 | Rube Bloom & Ted Koehler / arr. Jeff Baker

Darrell Grant - Piano
Clark Sommers - Bass
Brian Blade - Drums
Steve Wilson - Saxophone
Marquis Hill - Trumpet
Geof Bradfield - Saxophone
Gregory Uhlmann - Guitar
Blaise Magniere - Violin
Marie Wang - Violin
Anthony Devroye - Viola
Cheng-Hou Lee - Cello