Monday, April 25, 2016

Lluis Capdevila - Diaspora (2016)

Label: Self Released

Lluis Capdevila grew up by the vineyards of EL PRIORAT, near the Mediterranean Sea (Catalonia, Northeast of Spain). His search for freedom, expression and creativity soon connected him to improvisation and composing. Jazz music brought him to New York, where he attended the Aaron Copland School of Music -with the help of a Fulbright grant- and received a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from Stony Brook University.
Based in Manhattan, he shared the stage with established musicians Ray Anderson, Ugonna Okegwo and Elliot Zigmund and emerging talents Stan Killian, Bryan Copeland and Kush Abadey in venues like the 55 Bar, Whynotjazz, Harlem Tavern and Cleopatra’s Needle.
His debut album DIASPORA (2016 release) features his original compositions and the talents of Petros Klampanis (bass) and Luca Santaniello (drums).

1. Long Time No See
2. Leaving Spain
3. Another Day
4. If I Tell You the Truth
5. Workshop
6. My Romance
7. Contemplation
8. Cabana Leo
9. East Broadway

Lluis Capdevila (piano)
Petros Klampanis (bass)
Luca Santaniello (drums)