Monday, April 25, 2016

David Fiuczynski - Flam! Blam! Pan-Asian MicroJam! (2016)

David Fiuczynski is without a doubt one of the greatest guitarists in the world of jazz and rock today, both from a technical and from a creative/compositional stanpoint.
Originally known as the funanbolic guitarist and founder of funk-jam band Screaming Headless Torsos, David has since evolved his craft immeasurably via a string of remarkable releases which investigate and develop the integration of microtonal canons and techniques with western grooves.
Lunar Crush (with John Medeski), Black Cherry Acid Lab (with Mark Shim) and Kif Express have all been milestones of Professor Fiuczynski's (head of the Planet MicroJam Institute at Berklee) quest leading up to Planet MicroJam, his first release on RareNoiseRecords.
Fiuczynski opened the Pandora’s Box on non-Western tuning on his 2012 RareNoiseRecords debut, Planet MicroJam. He pushes the envelope even further on his latest microtonal project, Flam! Blam! Pan-Asian MicroJam! Jointly dedicated to 20th century classical composer Olivier Messiaen and innovative hip-hop record producer J Dilla, this ambitious venture has the guitarist-composer pursuing his passion for the notes that fall between the cracks with his intrepid microtonal crew. The seven movements that comprise Flam! instigated by Fiuczynski receiving a 2011 Guggenheim Fellowship, show the connections between exotic bird calls and J Dilla’s famous ‘flam beats’ while also referencing the colors of Messiaen’s music, Gagaku, the ancient court music of Japan, and other Pan-Asian ingredients. The three extra tracks that comprise Blam! feature special guest Rudresh Mahanthappa on alto saxophone. Fiuczynski is joined on both portions of his latest release by former Microjam Institute students Utar Artun on microtonal keyboard, Yazhi Guo on suona (Chinese oboe) and percussion, Helen Sherrah-Davies on violin, Jack Sherman on microtonal keyboard, Justin Schornstein on bass and Alex Bailey on drums.

1  Loon-Y Tunes
2  Dance of the Uirapuru
3  Flam   
4  Q&A Solitaire
5  Oiseaux jdillique
6  Gagaku Chord Candy
7  Waldstimmen
8  Uira Happy Jam
9  Organ Wren
10 Loon-Ly Solitaire


David Fiucsynski - guitar
Rudresh Mahanthappa - alto saxophone
Utar Artun - microtonal keyboard
Yazhi Guo - suona (Chinese oboe) and percussion
Helen Sherrah-Davies - violin
Jack Sherman - microtonal keyboard
Justin Schornstein - bass
Alex Bailey - drums