Thursday, June 7, 2018

Lana Trio with Sofia Jernberg (CLEAN FEED RECORDS 2018)

Trombone, piano and a drumkit with some extra percussive devices: this is the format chosen by Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø, Kjetil Jerve and Andreas Wildhagen for Lana trio, a Norwegian experimental band formed in 2007, playing uncompromising improvisations focusing on a continuous personal and social creation process.

For their third record, they have a fourth contributor in Sofia Jernberg, a Swedish singer with both classical and jazz backgrounds who has become one of the most intriguing innovators in vocal music today, rapidly gaining the same projection achieved by Phil Minton and Sidsel Endresen. The music played together by Lana trio and Jernberg is wild but focused, in a kind of orchestrated chaos capable to constantly surprise and seduce you, turning unexpectedly accessible what is difficult and sometimes even tough. This ability to move us without making concessions is a rare thing, a preciosity in what concerns the communication between a group of artists and their listeners.

1 Ears Anciens 13:59
2 Omivore's Aperetif 8:49
3 Ghost Training 6:24
4 Solitude Chant 12:50

Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø  trombone
Kjetil Jerve  piano
Andreas Wildhagen  drums and percussion
Sofia Jernberg  voice