Friday, April 27, 2018

Ronnie Cuber - Ronnie's Trio (SteepleChase Productions ApS May 4, 2018)

Ronnie Cuber (b. Dec. 25, 1941 in Brooklyn, New York), recognized as one of the most important baritone saxophonists in jazz today, has been composing, arranging and leading his own groups since 1959. 

His powerful command of the instrument led him to perform and record with amazing array of influential artists in almost all thinkable range of musical spectrum. Yet, this is the very first of basic jazz trio album by Ronnie Cuber, which should have a special place in his discography.

"There is not one of his records that contains any half-hearted playing or musical skating. When he plays, it's serious creative business and he tells a story. If you pick up anything under Cuber's name, you're guaranteed a winner...This recording is one of the most vivid and personal saxophone playing ever done on a baritone saxophone...a shining example of Cuber's big, beefy baritone sax tone and a fluent technique that is a one of a kind match between the gritty, down-home feeling of R&B and the advanced harmonies of bebop." - JazzTimes on 'Ronnie' (SCCD31680)

1. Silver's Serenade
2. What Is This Thing Called Love
3. St. Thomas
4. Jean-Marie
5. Body And Soul
6. The Jody Grind
7. Just Squeeze Me
8. Bernie's Tune
9. Só Danço Samba
10. Honeysuckle Rose
11. All The Things You Are
12. Lover Come Back To Me

Ronnie Cuber (baritone saxophone)
Jay Anderson (bass)
Adam Nussbaum (drums)