Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Quin Kirchner - The Other Side of Time (ASTRAL SPIRITS 2018)

We are so thrilled to present what Peter Margasak has dubbed “The first great jazz record of 2018.”

“The Other Side Of Time” is the debut album from Quin Kirchner, a drummer, composer & sound explorer from Chicago. A consummate sideman, Kirchner has been heard performing & recording with countless musicians in the diverse Chicago music scene including groups led by Jeb Bishop, Greg Ward, Paul Giallorenzo, Bill MacKay, Ryley Walker, Rob Clearfield, Dave Miller, Nick Mazzarella, Nate Lepine, Dave McDonnell, Keefe Jackson and the bands blink., Health&Beauty, NOMO, In Tall Buildings & Wild Belle.

With “The Other Side Of Time,” Kirchner creates a cross-genre, wide-spectrum exploration through his sonic personality. It includes original compositions, spontaneous improvisations, and solo drum pieces alongside interpretations of classics by Sun Ra, Andrew Hill, Charles Mingus, Paul Motian, Phil Cohran & Arthur Verocai. Joining him in his working band is an assemblage of Chicago luminaries – Jason Stein, Nate Lepine, Nick Broste, Matt Ulery & Ben Boye.

Beautiful double LP pressed at Third Man Pressing in Detroit, with Stoughton tip-on gatefold jackets and absolutely stunning artwork from Damon Locks (Eternals, Exploding Star Orchestra, Trenchmouth, etc).

1. The Ritual 11:04
2. Brainville 03:48
3. Crossings 03:39
4. Drums & Tines Pt 1 03:51
5. Wondrous Eyes 10:36
6. Limbo / The Shoes of the Fisherman's Wife Are Some Jive Ass Slippers 08:21
7. Resounder 03:16
8. Together We Can Explore the Furthest Beyond 04:13
9. Mumbo Jumbo 05:15
10. Flutter 01:35
11. Karina 04:59
12. Drums & Tines Pt. 2 06:07
13. Armageddon 14:12
14. Ripple 02:21
15. Self-Portrait In Three Colors 03:18

Quin Kirchner - drums, percussion, kalimba, sampler, wurlitzer
Nick Broste - trombone
Nate Lepine - tenor saxophone, flute
Jason Stein - bass clarinet
Matt Ulery - bass
Ben Boye - piano on Together...

Recorded at Minbal & Future House in Chicago, IL
Engineered by Nick Broste, Benjamin Balcom & Quin Kirchner
Mixed by Nick Broste at Shape Shoppe
Mastered by Peter Andreadis at All City Mastering
Produced by Quin Kirchner
Artwork by Damon Locks

All compositions by Quin Kirchner (BMI) except
Limbo written by Andrew Hill
The Shoes Of The Fisherman's Wife Are Some Jive Ass Slippers & Self Portrait In Three Colors written by Charles Mingus
Brainville written by Sun Ra
Karina (Domingo No Grajaú) written by Arthur Verocai
Mumbo Jumbo written by Paul Motian
Armageddon written by Kelan Phil Cohran