Monday, April 3, 2017

AQUAPIT - Dance with Ancients (T5Jazz Records 2017)

AQUAPIT marks 20th anniversary with a danceable organ jazz album focusing on their basics to make the listeners ‘dance’!

Through most of its career, AQUAPIT has been organist Yuta Kaneko, guitarist Yosuke Onuma, and drummer Hidenobu “KALTA” Otsuki. This album marks the debut of AQUAPIT as bandleader Yuta Kaneko’s solo unit. With buzzing young artists, namely Satoshi Yoshida on guitar and Kazuaki Yokoyama on drums as sidemen, the sound they create together is more energetic and groovy than ever. Along with danceable covers of Jackson 5’s “Never Can Say Goodbye” and Stevie Wonder’s “I Wish”, there is also a jazzy cover of Thelonious Monk’s “Monk’s Dream”! The original tunes are based on the unwavering world of Kaneko, combined with a drastic change brought by having young musicians on guitar and drums, which together create a chemistry that results in a significant evolution as an album. Especially notable is Kaneko’s sense of chords and voicing, which has always been his big appeal but has refined even more to shine brilliantly.

Four years since “Orange” in 2013 which was T5Jazz Records’ very first release, AQUAPIT has reinvented itself with a significant evolution. This is something to tune your ears to!

1. MKW
2. Linda
3. Never Can Say Goodbye
4. Coney Island
5. Half Moon
6. Monk’s Dream
7. The Baby Boomers
8. I Wish