Saturday, March 4, 2017

Gerry Gibbs & Thrasher People - Weather or Not (WHALING CITY SOUND 2017) 2 CD

It is unique and kind of madcap, the sign of a fertile artist plowing through all the ideas swirling around his brain. Gerry Gibbs is the artist, and "Weather or Not" is his new, two-disc set. Disc 1 is devoted to covering a variety of tasty material from the legendary 'Weather Report,' while Disc 2 features Gibbs cranking up the creative juices on a set of 16 originals, traversing from flamenco to pulse-quickening funk, calypso, gospel Latin jazz, R&B and plenty of all-out swing. It is Gibbs' most audacious and fully-realized project to date, an early crowning achievement from a restless spirit and a triumphant, indefatigable artist.

Disk 1

01. Teen Town
02. Palladium
03. Mr. Gone
04. Young and Fine
05. A Remark You Made
06. Black Market
07. Sightseeing
08. Punk Jazz
09. Scarlett Woman / Boogie Woogie Waltz
10. Elegant People
11. Birdland
12. Directions

Disk 2

01. Maestro Ron
02. Just Glad to be Anywhere
03. Kojak
04. Road Trip
05. Joaquin and Pinky
06. We Are So Free
07. The 70's Song / aka Patrice Rushen
08. Only In Dreams
09. Paul & Sid's Blues
10. I'm Simply Waiting
11. When I close My Eyes
12. St. Marteen
13. The Caribbean Song
14. Her Last Words (R.I.P.)
15. It's A Good Day
16. When I close My Eyes (and go to a place I have never been before) (part 2)

Gerry Gibbs - drums, percussion, electronics, voices
Alex Collins - piano, rhodes, organ, vocals
Hans Glawischnig - acoustic, electric bass