Saturday, January 14, 2017

Meddy Gerville - Tropical Rain (DOT TIME RECORDS 2017)

“Tropical Rain” is the ninth album from Pianist, composer and vocalist Meddy Gerville. The album features a star studded line up including Randy Brecker: Trumpet, Giovanni Hidalgo: Percussion, Lionel Loueke: Guitar and Michel Alibo: Bass. “Tropical Rain” features thirteen original compositions ranging from the romantic ballad “Camile” (written for Meddy’s daughter) to “Si zer gran martin”, a unique fusion of Jazz and Maloya, characterized by rhythms of his native Reunion Island.

01. Aerofeel
02. Fresh Perfume
03. Pot pourri Maloya
04. Bandolim Spirit
05. Si zèr gran martin
06. Ter vs Bin
07. Camila
08. Bab Marakech
09. Konm sa minm
10. Domoun Malizé
11. La bohème
12. Voyage Austral
13. Sanm ou mi ve [bonus track]