Saturday, January 28, 2017

Morten Schantz - Godspeed (EDITION RECORDS 2017)

Godspeed is the hi-octane, heavyweight new album from Danish keyboardist Morten Schantz. A founding member of the Danish group, JazzKamikaze, Morten Schantz returns with a new band under his own name featuring long-term collaborators Anton Eger on drums and Marius Neset on saxophones. With a wealth of keyboards at his disposal, the music on Godspeed is full of life, vibrant and bold. With a strong sense of friendship, warmth and an overriding sense of joy, Godspeed is impressive and represents some of the most vital new music bursting out of the European scene from some of the most important performers.

01. Silence in the Tempest (Part I)
02. Godspeed
03. Escape Velocity
04. Growing Sense
05. Martial Arts
06. Airglow
07. Ceasefire
08. Cathedral
09. Drill
10. Nuclear Fusion
11. Dark Matter
12. Silence in the Tempest (Part II)

MORTEN SCHANTZ Fender Rhodes Electric Piano, Sequential Prophet 6, Roland Juno 60, Moog Sub 37, Korg MS-20 mini, Korg Volca Keys, Solina String Ensemble, Waldorf Streichfett, Arturia Beatstep Pro, Upright Piano & handclaps

MARIUS NESET Soprano and Tenor saxophones, Korg MS-10 bass synth on “Martial Arts” rhodes solo, handclaps

ANTON EGER Drums, percussion & handclaps