Saturday, November 26, 2016

Wycliffe Gordon & His International All Stars - I Give You Love (2016)

Wycliffe Gordon will release a new CD “I Give You Love” during the week of November 21 at his week-long performances at Dizzy’s Coca-Cola Club in New York City.  This CD debuts as a follow up to his popular “Hello Pops” album, and includes more Louis Armstrong favorites such as “Umbrella Man”, “Rockin’ Chair” and ‘Bourbon Street Parade.”  Joining him on vocals is his long-time quintet member and multi-reeds musician Adrian Cunningham, along with bandmates Ehud Asherie on piano, Alvin Atkinson, Jr. on drums, and Yasushi Nakamura on bass.  The group gets it’s name “the International All Stars” as a play on Louis Armstrong’s world class ensemble known as the All Stars.

Wycliffe says, “we’ve added ‘International’ to the title because all of these guys hail from some place other than the USA.  We represent Israel, Japan, Australia and the Gold Coast (North Carolina that is).  It’s an amazing talented group of musicians and this CD is just a very fun representation of the five of us hanging out in the studio creating music that we love to play; hence, “I Give You Love” as the title.”

01. I Give You Love
02. When You're Smiling
03. Rockin' Chair
04. Weather Bird Rag
05. New Beauty's in the Eye
06. I Want My Blues Back
07. Sweet Spot
08. Toast My Bread
09. That's My Home
10. Bourbon Street Parade
11. Just a Closer Walk with Thee
12. He Was a Good Man
13. Two Deuces
14. I Give You Love (Reprise)