Friday, September 23, 2016

Tunnel Six - Journeys, Places, Stories (2016)

Forged in the heart of the Rocky Mountains and quenched in the surf of Lake Superior, the music of Tunnel Six evokes majestic vistas swept by crisp mountain air. This border-crossing ensemble features musicians from across the globe, blending six distinct threads into uniquely impressionistic soundscapes. 

With singable melodies that dare to be epic and an unabashedly emotional approach to musical storytelling, Tunnel Six tastefully blends elements of jazz, world, and folk to transport audiences from the peaks of the Rockies to the shores of the Maritimes. 

Following six cross-continental tours and two internationally released albums, the collective continues to dissolve geographic and musical boundaries to reach audiences across North America. 

This album takes a different path from our previous releases, showcasing the musical movements that are evident within each of Tunnel Six’s disparate members, while never losing sight of common threads that weave our stories together. The music explores vast landscapes, the peaceful complexity of nature, and the way it’s filtered through the human experience in music. Journeys, Spaces, Stories isn’t simply a collection of songs, but rather an expression of group interplay and band dynamics that have been honed on the road over the last seven years. 

Designed to be a continuous listening experience, Journeys, Spaces, Stories is a rich tapestry, woven together with interludes from each member of the ensemble. In addition to original compositions from album also features poetry from Tim Bowling read by Regina Harris Biaocchi.

01. Red Line Winter 07:22
02. Two Places 03:33
03. Rolling Through the Prairies 07:37
04. Interlude #1 (places) 01:13
05. The Roaring Fraser 08:46
06. Interlude #2 (journeys) 01:26
07. Lake Effect 08:11
08. Interlude #3 (stories) 01:51
09. Nostalgia 05:30
10.Interlude #4 (spaces) 00:38
11.Ink Pots 09:57
12.Interlude #5 (times) 00:58
13.Mnemosyne 06:11
14.Hub Cap Annie 06:32