Monday, September 5, 2016

Metalwood - Twenty (2016) CELLAR LIVE RECORDS

Returning to the studio after a 14 year hiatus, Metalwood has released an impressive new recording of outstanding electric jazz sounds. And this is not surprising coming from one of the foremost electric jazz bands from Canada that emerged nearly twenty years ago.

With Mike Murley on saxophones; Brad Turner on piano, triton and trumpet; Chris Tarry on electric bass and Ian Froman on drums, the quartet has a sound that will delight the eardrums of adventuresome jazz fans.

Highlights include "Solidarite" which sounds like a Weather Report gem from back in the day, and has that groove to be sure. It's a thrill to hear Murely's saxophone float above the groove that Turner is creating on the keyboards, reminding the listener of the beautiful artistry that Wayne Shorter and Joe Zawinul created in Weather Report.

Brad Turner - keys / trumpet
Mike Murley - tenor / soprano saxophones
Chris Tarry - electric bass
Ian Froman - drums

01. The Past Before You
02. Bodybeard
03. Fortune Smiles
04. Gargantua
05. Rooftops
06. Clutch
07. Good Things (For Good People)
08. Extra Salty
09. Solidarité
10. Push