Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Playlist for Tom Ossana / Dane Brewer – The Thin Edge – April 27, 2016 MST 7:00 to 9:00p.m. ~ Use this link to access the show online.

I've anxiously waited for something new and interesting from Manu Katché since his 2005 ECM Neighbourhood. The answer came last week from Anteprima Productions and their release of Manu's Unstatic and the Katché penned "Blossom" featuring Nils Landgren, our favorite Swedish trombonist. Karl Latham, making his first appearance as a leader, brings Living Standards in which the group improvises around a variety of relatively new pop/rock standards, in this case Grace Slick's "White Rabbit" from Jefferson Airplane's 1967Surrealistic Pillow. Vic Juris - guitar and Mark Egan - bass complete Karl's trio. In a big-band outing, Michael Spiro/Wayne Wallace La Orquesta Sinfonietta - Canto América (Patois Records 2016) is next covering Hoagy Carmichael's "Stardust". Closing this half-hour we get some Nordic esoterica from Nils Økland Band's Kjølvatn (ECM 2016) featuring Nils viola/violin in a performance of Økland's "Mali".

Russell Malone's 2016 High Note All About Melody kicks of the second half with a cover of Bill Lee's "Biskit". BTW, Bill is Spike Lee's 87 year-old father. Together with Malone's guitar are Rick Germanson, Luke Sellick and Willie Jones: piano/bass/drums. P 'N Ko Trio - Premier Étage (2016) follows with Pierre Carbonneaux's "Peak Time" featuring Nicholas Zentz on double bass and Kolia Hiffler fe-manning the drums. The amazing Eddie Harris is next from his seminal 1965 Atlantic The In Sound and his frequently covered "Freedom Jazz Dance" featuring Cedar Walton on the piano and Ray Codrington's trumpet. It has been a decade at least since we've heard from the Yellowjackets. Brand new from Mack Avenue comes Coherence and pianist Russell Ferrante's "Eddie's in the House", a tribute to the late Eddie Harris - you can hear the ghost of Eddie in Bob Mintzer's tenor saxophone.

Giovanni Perin 6et begins the third half with a cover of DeLange and Van Heusen's "Darn That Dream" from its self-produced 2016 #pera. We'll hear Perin's vibes together with Tommaso Troncon: sax, Giulio Scaramella: piano,  Max Trabucco: drums, Marco Trabucco: electric bass. Miles Davis' famous third quintet follows with the oft covered Wayne Shorter classic, "Footprints", from their 1966 Columbia Miles Smiles. The trumpeter's quintet features Shorter/tenor, Herbie Hancock/piano, Ron Carter/bass and the spectacular drums of Tony Williams. Newcomer Anthony Wilson closes this half with his "Your Footprints" from his new Goat Hill Recordings' Frogtown, featuring Wilson's guitar and vocals together with legendary Charles Lloyd on tenor.

KARI-ON Productions Lavon Hardison gets the romance going covering Billy Strayhorn's "Maybe" from her new Come Together featuring David Joyner's piano and Brad Schrandt's reeds. Prince's "1999" - a year earlier than necessary to mark the end of the twentieth century - follows for obvious reasons from his 1982 Warner Bros. release 1999. This tune, particularly the video played frequently during MTV's heyday, occupied my field of vision more times than I can count. The talented Italian pianist, Andrea Pozza, is next with an unusual treatment of J. S. Bach's "Siciliana" from his new Trio Records Siciliana. Andrew Cleyndert's double bass and Mark Taylor's drums round out the trio. Guilhem Flouzat's Portraits (Sunnyside Records 2015) comes next with Flouzat's "Where We Should Go" featuring the vocal stylings of Becca Stevens and Ben Wendel's tenor. Caleb Collins ft. Alicia Olatuja follows with his Sony Red Distribution Re-Introducing The Standards covering George and Ira Gershwin's "Our Love Is Here to Stay". Great Bend, Kansas, phenom Karrin Allyson brings romance to a screeching halt (the rest is up to you) with a moving and swinging take on Cole Porter's "Everytime We Say Goodbye" from her 2001 Pure Audiophile Records Ballads: Remembering John Coltrane.

Let's have some fun!

A special thanks to KZMU's Music Director, Serah Mead and the troops @ RoJ for their help putting the show together: Agenor (BRA), Chris do Brasil (BRA), Domi & Victor (SPA), GAB (BEL), JR (SPA), Javi (SPA), Jazzzz61 (SPA), Lira (BRA), Luisa, Menos Que un Perro (ARG), Marcos (BRA), Melokan (VEN), Raz (ISR) and Sonia (SPA). Also friend, Raul Boeira, the Brazilian based in Passo Fundo and Spain's Javier Carrete.

(Number One)