Thursday, January 7, 2016

Fredrik Kronkvist - Monk Vibes (2015)

Alto saxophonist Fredrik Kronkvist releases album with Thelonious Monk’s music along with three American superstars.

When Kronkvist releases his new album MONK VIBES he continues cooperate with some of the hottest names on the jazz scene with Jason Marsalis on vibraphone, Reuben Rogers on bass and Gregory Hutchinson on drums. This time they dedicate themselves to interpret the genius composer Thelonious Monk’s music and spirit. The unusual constellation with alto saxophone, vibraphone, bass and drums create a different, challenging sound without the piano and gives the group wide open spaces for colorful improvisations. MONK VIBES reflects Thelonious multidimensional universe where simplicity and complexity come together in a beautiful, danceable and contrasting music.The album contains wild conversations, humor, calypso beat, odd time signatures, blues, beautiful ballads and a tonal language that sounds as skewed as obvious.

01 Skippy
02 Misterioso
03 Teo
04 Brilliant Corners
05 Trinkle Tinkle
06 Round Midnight
07 Evidence
08 Kronk’s Monk
09 Four in One
10 The Virtue of Patience

All tracks by Thelonious Monk except tr.8 by Fredrik

Fredrik Kronkvist – alto sax
Jason Marsalis – vibraphone
Reuben Rogers – bass
Gregory Hutchinson – drums