Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Aaron Shragge & Ben Monder - This World Of Dew (Human Resource Records July 20, 2018)

This World of Dew is Aaron Shragge’s third release with Ben Monder

The duo project, an exploratory, meditative collaboration, has been praised as  “…lyrical and heartwarming…” (Jazz Times) and “thoroughly modern with a definitive sound...” (The Birmingham Times). 

The album features guitarist Ben Monder’s otherworldly harmonic virtuosity in expansive sonic textures that highlight Shragge’s subtle and distinctive lyrical voice on the shakuhachi and dragon mouth trumpet (a custom microtonal instrument).   

The fourteen new compositions by Shragge are inspired by the writings of both ancient and modern poets: Kobayashi Issa, Matsuo Bashō, Li Po, Nishiyama Sōin and Charles Bukowski.

Tracks 2-7 make up “This World of Dew Suite” which follows the emotional arc of poet Kobahashi Issa’s grief as he mourned the loss of his young daughter. What ties all these compositions together is how they explore themes of loneliness, perseverance and impermanence. 

This World of Dew will be released worldwide on Friday, July 20th 2018 on Human Resource Records (NYC. )  

There will be a CD release celebration on July 20th at the Jazz Gallery in New York City and on July 21st at La Vitrola in Montreal, Canada. 

Track Listing
1. Companion  5:34
This World of Dew Suite
2. By Rain and Mud  0:49
3. A Tiny Boat  7:01
4. This World of Dew  1:43
5. There is Always One You Follow  4:19
6. Stink Worm  2:40
7. Pretending Wisdom  2:27
8. Roll The Dice  4:14
9. Nothing In The Cry  3:24
10. It’s Ours  3:01
11. Old Dust 5:24
12. Settling  1:44
13. Blue Bird  5:52
14. Sun Coming Down  3:50

Ben Monder - Guitar