Thursday, May 10, 2018

Martin Speake Quartet ft. Ethan Iverson - Intention (UBUNTU MUSIC 2018)

Leading British saxophonist, composer and jazz educator Martin Speake celebrates his 60th birthday and the launch of his latest album Intention (2018 - Ubuntu Music), a revival of his musical alliance with one of the most high-profile, exciting and innovative American jazz pianists, The Bad Plus's Ethan Iverson. 

Citing Charlie Parker, Paul Motian, Lee Konitz, Keith Jarrett, Ornette Coleman and Rabih Abou Khalil amongst his major influences, Martin Speake has developed a personal musical voice that expresses a deep understanding of the history and language of Jazz and an individuality as an improviser that is intelligent, melodic, cool, complex, direct, beautiful and profound. 

A member of the saxophone quartet Itchy Fingers in the 80s, he has recorded 18 albums as leader including the internationally acclaimed ECM release Change Of Heart with Paul Motian, Bobo Stenson and Mick Hutton. 

Intention a quartet recording with Ethan Iverson, Fred Thomas and James Maddren, captures the breadth of his music within a selection of originals composed throughout his notable career revisited and reinterpreted alongside these three exceptional musicians.

"Martin Speake is one of the most interesting and rewarding alto saxophonists now playing jazz on any continent." 
Jazz Times 

" . . . A dazzling exposition by a uniquely idiosyncratic virtuoso-scholar of jazz.” 
The Guardian on Ethan Iverson

1. Becky 05:32
2. Twister 06:53
3. Magic Show 02:51
4. Spring Dance 05:23
5. The Heron 06:21
6. Dancing in the Dark 05:53
7. Charlie's Wig 05:24
8. Blackwell 05:50
9. June 2nd 04:36
10. Hidden Vision 05:06
11. Intention 04:33

Martin Speake – saxophone
Ethan Iverson – piano
Fred Thomas – bass
James Maddren – drums