Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Jakob Bro - Returnings (ECM 2018)

“Danish guitarist Jakob Bro creates magical music, impossible to categorize”, wrote Downbeat recently.  On Returnings the magic is intensified as Bro and musical soul-mate Thomas Morgan reconnect with two living legends of European jazz, trumpeter Palle Mikkelborg and drummer Jon Christensen.  It’s a wonderful combination:  Bro’s watercolour guitar sounds,  Mikelborg’s soft Milesian flugelhorn,  Morgan’s impeccable choice of notes,  and Christensen’s  free-floating drumming . These components  add up to one of the prettiest and subtlest jazz albums of recent times.  Returnings was recorded  in July 2016 at Oslo’s Rainbow Studio and produced by Manfred Eicher.

1 OKTOBER (Jakob Bro) 04:19
2 STRANDS (Jakob Bro) 04:43
3 SONG FOR NICOLAI (Palle Mikkelborg) 05:19
4 VIEW (Jakob Bro) 08:38
5 LYSKASTER (Jakob Bro) 05:03
6 HAMSUN (Jakob Bro) 05:14
7 RETURNINGS (Jakob Bro, Palle Mikkelborg) 05:36
8 YOUTH (Palle Mikkelborg) 02:37

Jakob Bro   Guitar
Palle Mikkelborg   Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Thomas Morgan   Double Bass
Jon Christensen   Drums