Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Mopo - Mopocalypse (WE JAZZ RECORDS January 26, 2018)

Mopo, a trio of sax, bass and drums from Finland, has been on the radar of international tastemakers already for a while thanks to their unique blend of jazz, punk, and inpisration from the Finnish nature. Now the trio of saxophonist Linda Fredriksson, bassist Eero Tikkanen and drummer Eeti Nieminen is set to release their fourth album on Helsinki's We Jazz Records. 

"Mopocalypse", a highly flammable mix of rough-around-the-edges jazz and melodic songwriting, is the remarkable next step for one of Finland's most potent exports. Mopo swing, grind, drive hard, and slow down with an impeccable sense of dynamics. Their music is raw and beautiful.

1. Tökkö 03:40
2. My Best Friend
3. Riisto
4. Ruusu
5. Mustafa
6. Niin aikaisin 04:44
7. Sinut muistan ainiaan
8. Noita
9. Panama

with: Otto Eskelinen, Farfisa organ

Produced by Mopo & Matti Nives
Recording, mixing and editing: Joonas Saikkonen & Abdissa ”Mamba" Assefa
Mastered by: Pauli Saastamoinen
Additional mastering for vinyl: Jukka Sarapää