Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Sigurdur Flosason & Lars Jansson Trio - Green Moss Black Sand (STORYVILLE RECORDS 2017)

Along with the Lars Jansson Trio, Flosason captures the Nordic nuances with fervour and precision. Lars Jansson is a Swedish jazz pianist and a composer, and the Lars Jansson Trio counts Jansson as well as the Dane Thomas Fonnesbæk on double bass, and the Swede Paul Svanberg on drums. Flosason is from Iceland and is trained as a classical alto saxophonist. Although he primarily plays jazz, he has worked extensively with various Scandinavian musicians such as Cathrine Legardh, Kjeld Lauritsen, and Kristian Leth, and has composed both jazz music and classical pieces. The musicianship, generosity and friendship of the group make the musical images of rural Iceland come to life.

01. Fragile Growth 5:23
02. Serenading the Moon 5:05
03. Black Sand 8:01
04. Stillness in the Storm 5:15
05. Green Sky 4:56
06. Lava 7:22
07. Spring Water 6:23
08. Slanting Rain 5:57
09. Moss 4:56
10. To the End of the World 6:35
11. Wasteland 5:30

Sigurdur Flosason: Alto Saxophone
Lars Jansson: Piano
Thomas Finnesbæk: Double Bass
Paul Svanberg: Drums