Monday, July 24, 2017

Jeong Lim Yang - Déjà Vu (FRESH SOUND NEW TALENT RECORDS 2017)

Jeong Lim Yang gained her recognition from playing with New York City's veteran artists such as Tim Berne, Oscar Noriega, Adam Kolker, Michael Attias and Billy Mintz since she moved to the Big Apple in 2011. Yang's first leader album "deja vu", has reflected her pure inspiration of playing with these musicians and her compositional ideas resemble much of her hero's like Charlie Haden and Paul Motian.

"Yang's interpretation of modern jazz is unique and creative, and her musicianship is at the top level of current community standards in jazz and art." - Michael Attias

01. Moon Tethered 5:53
02. Are You Happy Now? 5:51
03. Déjà Vu 5:42
04. Ravine 4:47
05. Obtuse 7:08
06. Cherry 6:52
07. Peculia 6:45
08. Deal Breaker 7:26

Jeong Lim Yang (bass)

Adam Kolker (tenor sax)

Michael Attias (alto sax)

Nick Sanders (piano)

Jesse Simpson (drums)

Recorded at Tedesco Studio, New Jersey, September 20, 2015

Sound engineer: Tom Tedesco
Mixed by Eivind Opsvik
Mastered by Pieter de Wagter
Photography & cover design: Krysta Brayer

Produced by Jeong Lim Yang
Executive producer: Jordi Pujol