Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Volker Goetze Quintet - Bridges (July 20, 2017)

The new quintet album “Bridges” from international touring trumpeter and composer Volker Goetze unites musicians from three continents. Together they explore new ground, stretch creative improvisation and build musical Bridges over thousands of miles. 

Goetze has brought together top tear Grammy Award winning and nominated musicians who have toured with the best jazz musicians on the planet including Herbie Hancock, Chick Corea, Esperanza Spalding, Bobby McFerrin and many more. 

The original compositions are rooted in West African and contemporary New York Jazz creating a unique cross-cultural musical experience.

1. African Child
2. Ding Ding Borlaba
3. Mask
4. Funky One
5. Snow Crystal
6. Fulani Dance
7. Bridges
8. Devika

Releases July 20, 2017 

All compositions by Volker Goetze 
Lyrics on Ding Ding Borlaba by Ablaye Cissoko 

Produced by Volker Goetze 

(2,7) Recorded at the Battery Park, New York 
(1,4,5) Recorded at the Center of Improvised Music, Brooklyn, New York 
(3) Recorded at Saint-Louis, Senegal 
(6) Recorded at Paris, France & Harlem, New York 
(8) Recorded in Harlem, New York 

Recorded by Tyler McDiarmid, Geoff Countryman and Volker Goetze 
Mixed by Jim Anderson at Avatar Studios 
Mastering by Alan Silverman 

Patrick Breiner (1,2,4,5,7) & Christian Torkewitz (8,6) - Tenor Saxophone 
Josh Myers (1,2,4,5,7) & Aidan Carroll (6,8)- Bass
Kristjan Randalu (1,2,4,5,7) & Chrisitan Torkewitz (8,6) - Piano 
Richie Barhsay (2,6,8) & Bodek Janke (1,4,5,7) - Drums 

Andreas Molino - bata, timbales & conga on African Child & Bridges 
Aziz Diop - baragabu on Ding Ding Borlaba 
Abdou Khadre Diop - sabar & tama on Ding Ding Borlaba 

Special Guests 
Oran Etkin - Bass-Clarinet (6,8) 
Ablaye Cissoko - Voice & kora (1,2) 

Additional Horn Players: 

African Child (1) 
Alan Ferber - Trombone 
Peter Ehwald - Soprano Saxophone 

Ding Ding Borlaba (2) 
Joe Beaty - Trombone 
Uri Gurvic - Soprano Saxophone 
Seth Paris - Tenor Saxophone 

Bridges (7) 
Seth Paris - Bass Clarinet 

Devika (8) 
Roger Rosenberg - Basson 
Christian Torkwitz - Flute