Monday, June 19, 2017

Josh Lawrence - Color Theory (POSI-TONE RECORDS 2017)

Josh Lawrence brings a full complement of tones and contrasts to his new record "Color Theory." Featuring a powerful line-up fronted by Lawrence's trumpet, keyboardist Adam Faulk, pianist Orrin Evans, and alto saxophonist Caleb Curtis, everything stays straight forward and swinging hard while the rhythm section of bassist Madison Rast and drummer Anwar Marshall keep everything honest and in the pocket. The music is meant to be reflections of the entire spectrum, and the musical program covers several hues and shades with an exciting and evocative presentation of Lawrence's amazing new original compositions. "Color Theory" features an amazing combination of talents and a highlight reel of brilliant performances. Josh Lawrence is a new star on the jazz horizon and his music is sure to bring bright moments to jazz fans everywhere.

The Ripoff
The Conceptualizer
An Uptown Romance
Purple (4 Prince)
On The Yangtze

Caleb Curtis - sax
Brent White - trombone
Orrin Evans - piano
Adam Faulk - fender rhodes
Madison Rast - bass
Anwar Marshall - drums