Thursday, March 23, 2017

Tom Dempsey / Tim Ferguson Quartet - Waltz New (OA2 RECORDS 2017)

"...inventive, straight ahead and swinging. The Tom Dempsey/Tim Ferguson Quartet shows how creative the modern mainstream of jazz remains..." SCOTT YANOW

Paying tribute to the profound effect Jim Hall had on their music, guitarist Tom Dempsey and bassist Tim Ferguson's fourth album together approaches six of Hall's classic compositions, and several standards that the guitarist made distinctively his own over a storied career. Featuring saxophonist Joel Frahm and drummer Eliot Zigmund, the quartet explores "All Across The City," "Something Special" and the title track, all by Hall, and their take on "Alone Together," "All the Things You Are," and "Skylark," as they give a nod to Hall's contributions to modern jazz and the impact of his enduring legacy.

1 Something Special 5:58 (Jim Hall)
2 All The Things You Are 5:47 (Jerome Kern-Oscar Hammerstein II)
3 Big Blues 6:01 (Jim Hall)
4 All Across The City 5:53 (Jim Hall)
5 Waltz New 6:10 (Jim Hall)
6 Careful 6:00 (Jim Hall)
7 Alone Together 5:44 (Howard Dietz-Arthur Schwartz)
8 Subsequently 5:53 (Jim Hall)
9 Skylark 5:53 (Hoagy Carmichael)
10 Village Waltz 6:19 (Tom Dempsey)
11 Receipt Please 4:55 (Ron Carter)

Tom Dempsey - Guitar
Tim Ferguson - Bass
Joel Frahm - Tenor Saxophone
Eliot Zigmund - Drums