Friday, March 31, 2017

Kevin Eubanks - East West Time Line (MACK AVENUE RECORDS 2017)

Guitarist Kevin Eubanks’ Unique Perspective on
Musical Landscape of East and West Coasts
Shines with New Mack Avenue Records Release

East Coast Band (Side A) Features:
Nicholas Payton, Orrin Evans,
Dave Holland and Jeff “Tain” Watts

West Coast Band (Side B) Features:
Bill Pierce, Rene Camacho,
Marvin “Smitty” Smith and Mino Cinelu

Joining Eubanks on this stellar outing are longtime collaborator and former Berklee College of Music schoolmate, drummer Marvin “Smitty” Smith, who fuels the West Coast outfit alongside seasoned session bassist Rene Camacho, percussionist Mino Cinelu and saxophonist Bill Pierce.

Smith’s East Coast counterpart on this bi-coastal session is the irrepressibly swinging Jeff “Tain” Watts, a force of nature on the kit who combines with bassist Dave Holland, Philadelphia-based pianist Orrin Evans and New York trumpeter Nicholas Payton for a potent lineup. Together these great musicians bring out the best in Eubanks’ six-string prowess and ignite his searching instincts throughout the sessions in Los Angeles and New York.

Side A
1) Timeline 
2) Watercolors 
3) Poet 
4) Carnival 
5) Something About Nothing 
6) Take The Coltrane

Side B
7) Captain Senor Mouse 
8) Cubano Chant 
9) What's Going On 
10) My One And Only Love