Thursday, March 9, 2017

John Zorn - The Garden of Earthly Delights (TZADIK 2017)

The sixth CD by Zorn’s heaviest 21st century ensemble Simulacrum celebrates the 500th anniversary of the passing of one of the greatest painters the world has ever known—Hieronymus Bosch. A visionary of unparalleled power whose imagination and fantastical creations re- main uniquely his own, Bosch is one of the most enigmatic figures in world art. Inspired by his surreal visions of Heaven and Hell, “The Garden of Earthly Delights” blends heavy metal, blues, funk, jazz and modern classical music together into one of the strangest amalgams you’ve ever heard. Tighter than ever and joined by bassist Trevor Dunn, Medeski, Hollenberg and Grohowski are at their manic best in this jaw-dropping visit to a wild musical world where absolutely anything is possible!

1. Angels and Devils
2. The Infernal Machine
3. The Dragon Tree
4. Paean to the Prince of Hell
5. Music of the Flesh
6. Eve and Adam
7. Mirror Image
8. The Garden of Earthly Delights
9. The Circuit
10.Out of the Eternal Sphere

Trevor Dunn: Bass
John Medeski: Keyboards 
Kenny Grohowski: Drums
Matt Hollenberg: Guitar
Sara Serpa: Voice